ESET SysRescue

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Logan5, Jan 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Logan5

    Logan5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Hi,

    I have 2 PC's at home as well as my Mac and I am trying to create the rescue CD. It checks to see if they have something called AIK build 6001 or newer (they do not) so I go to the link provided and download the huge file. It is an iso file (no idea what that is) and double clicking on it seems to do nothing.

    So I go back to SysRescue and point it to the folder where the iso file is but that does nothing.

    So what do I do with the iso file in order to create the rescue CD's for my PC's?

    Thanks,
    Logan
     
  2. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    You can mount an .iso with any virtual drive program (DAEMON Tools Lite, Virtual CloneDrive, DVDFab Virtual Drive, Alcohol 52%) or burn them on a disc and then run that disc (Windows 7 Image Burning, ImgBurn, CDBurnerXP, InfraRecorder, BurnAware).

    But it is indeed a long and complicated process, I never burned a rescue disc since I find this method way too annoying.

    I am not sure, but I think in ESET version 5 the process the use SysRescue will be revamped.
     
  3. Logan5

    Logan5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Hi,

    Thanks, that does sound more complicated that it should be but I will look into it some more.

    Thanks again,
    Logan
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2011
  4. SmackyTheFrog

    SmackyTheFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    Use a program like WinRAR or 7-zip to extract the contents of the ISO to a directory, then point the SysRescue builder there. No need to mount it.
     
  5. Logan5

    Logan5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Hi,

    Thanks - I will get 7-Zip and then give it another try.

    Logan
     
  6. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    343
    Long and complicated?
    In your cd burning software choose burn iso (usually on the first window that pops up when you start it). Then burn it to cd/dvd

    Reboot comp with media in drive making sure your cd/dvd drive is listed as #1 in the bios boot order, meaning the bios looks for that first when starting up. To check: press and hold delete or f1 (usually) during the first screen you see when comp is powering up till you are in the bios. It will say on the bottom of the screen which key to press. You can pause that screen with pause/break on your keyboard.

    You cant run your rescue cd/dvd from windows or any operating system so mounting it with daemon or anything else wont work.
    Even if there is a way it defeats the purpose because it is supposed to be independent of your operating system.

    Hope this helps you

    Sorry i just reread your post....I....ummm...heh woops
    Oh well maybe its useful info anyways...
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2011
  7. iptrust

    iptrust Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Posts:
    9
    Do you need do that:

    1- Download Windows AIK at http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyID=696dd665-9f76-4177-a811-39c26d3b3b34.

    2- You must burn this ISO file, or extract its content with Winrar or 7-zip anywhere.

    3- You must install windows AIK.

    4- After install Windows AIK you will run SysRescue.

    5- Before you run SysRescue, I think interesting read Section 5.5 at http://download.eset.com/manuals/ESET_EAV4_UserGuide_ENU.pdf.

    6- When you run SysRescue at the moment it show you the root folder of AIK, if it show you something like this:
    C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools
    Please, change to:
    C:\Arquivos de programas\Windows AIK

    7- Next steps you find detailedly by reading the manual.

    I hope it helps! SysRescue is very useful in some situations as said in the manual.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.