ESET Smart Security with Nod32 Antivirus for MS Exchange

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by gurojee, Aug 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gurojee

    gurojee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Hi,

    Does anyone know that if we can install Nod32 Antivirus for MS Exchange on the Server where ESET Smart Security is already installed?
     
  2. KarlBeer

    KarlBeer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Posts:
    50
    I need to know the outcome of this thread.=)

    You my friend, are a brave soul! lol
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    What you would like to do is to have both v2 and v3 installed on the same OS which is impossible. If you want to use NOD32 for Exchange, you'll need to uninstall ESS/EAV first.
     
  4. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Actually I have a customer who installed first ESS , then install NOD32 v2.7 on the same machine , same OS - Windows XP SP2 . It seems to work ok .
    I can't guarantee for the server :D :D :D
     
  5. gurojee

    gurojee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    If I uninstall the Smart Secuirty Suit and install Nod32 for Exchange which is just for scanning emails then what would be for OS?

    o_O
     
  6. BFG

    BFG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    San Diego
    Hello,

    AMON is also part of that program. That's what scans the OS.

    Thank you,
    BFG
     
  7. gurojee

    gurojee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    So, It mean I can only have Nod32 Antivirus for Exchange on my server. That is all.

    :doubt:
     
  8. BFG

    BFG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    San Diego
    Hello,

    You should have, ESET NOD32 for MS Exchange Server, on your exchange server.

    Thank you,
    BFG
     
  9. gurojee

    gurojee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    I have only one server, MS Windows SBS 2003. Which provides all the services in my company.

    Thanks
     
  10. mickhardy

    mickhardy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    Australia
    At this moment in time, install the following two components on SBS 2003. I'm unsure if XMON includes Nod32. I installed both.
    ESET NOD32 2.7 for Win NT/2000/XP/2003/Vista (32-bit/64-bit) - LAN Update Server 2.70.39
    ESET NOD32 for MS Exchange Server 2.71.9

    On your client machines install either EAV or ESS V3.0.669
    ESET NOD32 3.0 Antivirus for Win XP/2000/2003/Vista 3.0.669
    OR
    ESET Smart Security for Win XP/2000/2003/Vista 3.0.669

    You can install ERA on the server if you wish to support a V3 Mirror, push client installations and see the client status and definition versions from a central location or you can configure clients to update from the Internet - your choice.
    ESET Remote Administrator Server 2.0.110
    ESET Remote Administrator Console NT/2000/XP/2003/Vista 2.0.110

    ESS is supposed to be OK on SBS 2003 clients but I have found it to cause intermittent issues with shares and mapped drives amongst other random and hard to blame issues. If you have SBS 2003 Premium with Microsoft ISA 2004 on the Server and Microsoft Firewall Client on the workstations, ESS is not currently fully compatible. This is not a confirmed situation, just what I've found on our Network. We ran ESS on workstations for the first four months of this year but recently removed it and solved many of our problems.

    EAV V3 is great - no issues at all.

    Hope this helps.

    Nod32 V2.7 on SBS 2003 with installed and active components
    Nod32 V2.7.jpg

    ERA view of client status - also on SBS 2003
    ERA Status.jpg
     
  11. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    You want to stick with 2.7 on your Exchange server. The RAS/RAC/LAN update mirror components will still update and manage v3 clients if you wish to keep that.

    And you'll want to follow this exclusion list within AMON on your SBS box.
    http://www.sbsfaq.com/Lists/FAQs/DispForm.aspx?ID=137

    I also disable DMON and EMON on the SBS box, completely unload them. IMON disables itself by default during install on a server OS.

    I also disable background scanning in XMON, as well as disable "scan all file extensions" within AMON.
     
  12. mickhardy

    mickhardy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    Australia
    We currently have all your suggestions enforced except background scanning which is enabled. Can you please explain the reason for disabling?
     
  13. mickhardy

    mickhardy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    Australia
    I answered my own question by searching the forum and reading the manual.

    I've disabled background scanning for XMON on our SBS2003 servers.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.