Eset Smart Security & Task Manager

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by optek, May 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. optek

    optek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Posts:
    10
    Apologies if this has already been brought up, I`m new to this forum and this is only my second request for help in as many hours.

    Prior to yesterday, I was using version 4.0.474 of ESS. I`ve now upgraded to version 4.2.40.0 with a 2year license.

    Problem:
    I used to be able to go into Task Manager, select Processes, in that tab, selct, "egui.exe" right click and select "End Process."

    Now, when I try that I get the message... The operation could not be completed. Access is denied.

    I only have the one account on my pc, I`m the only person who uses it, I`m logged on as Administrator. Yesterday I wanted to disable ESET but couldn`t so I had to uninstall it to help me figure out a problem.

    Does anyone know why it can`t be disabled in Task Manager?

    Thanks.....
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. optek

    optek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Posts:
    10
    Thanks again for the prompt reply.

    You have helped me answer that question in my previous post. :)

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=271745

    So, there is no way of disabling it anymore? :argh:
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    I guess you can disable self protection but that makes it vulnerable to malware as you can imagine
     
  5. optek

    optek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Posts:
    10
    That`s weird!!

    Since I have unchecked the Protocol Filtering box (see my other post) - I no longer have the firewall settings available or the network connections from the pop-up menu in windows task bar.

    Is that normal?

    Windows firewall has activated itself and all traces of ESET`s firewall have vanished!!!
     
  6. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    That shouldn't happen. Is Eset flagging that firewall is disabled? Restart the machine maybe
     
  7. optek

    optek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Posts:
    10
    I have restarted pc several times.... opened eset`s main window and there is no reference made to the firewall at all. It simply doesn`t live there anymore. It`s disappeared altogether!

    I have antivirus ticked green, anti spyware ticked green and antispam ticked green; that`s all there is, there is no reference to firewall..... it`s gone!! And this is in the main window menu of eset.

    It`s as if it`s been written out of the program!

    Just gone!

    What`s happening?

    http://i798.photobucket.com/albums/yy270/rx64/eset.png

    http://i798.photobucket.com/albums/yy270/rx64/eset2.png
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2010
  8. nickster_uk

    nickster_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Posts:
    190
    How about opening the main ESET window then pressing F5. Scroll down to the 'Personal Firewall' section then select 'System Integration' and make sure 'All features active' is selected in the drop down box to the right hand side of the window. You will probably need to reboot afterwards.
     
  9. optek

    optek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Posts:
    10
    Thanks nickster_uk

    I had worked that one out and came back to post the information.

    Whatever happened to the good old fashioned paper manuals that you could bury your head in for days?

    Thanks for your help..... much appreciated.
     
  10. nickster_uk

    nickster_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Posts:
    190
    Due to people wanting to save the world, paper has been made illegal ;)

    You're welcome for the help...but glad you got it sorted anyway :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.