ESET Smart Security Public Beta 1b now available

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by Marcos, Jun 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Hello,

    ESET Smart Security Public Beta 1b is now available. It is a service release designed to that adds additional firewall diagnostics for error logging and a revised expiration date. It can be downloaded from ESET's web site at:
    http://download1.eset.com/special/essbeta1b/ess_nt32_enu.msi

    ESET Smart Security Public Beta Version 1b contains the following changes:

    ESET PERSONAL FIREWALL
    • Improved firewall diagnostics to provide better data when errors occur.

    INSTALLATION
    • Digital certificate has new expiration date.

    • Revised license expiration date for ThreatSense updates.


    NOTE: In most cases you will not need to reboot if you are upgrading from a previous build of ESET Smart Security, however, the version displayed in the ESET Graphic User Interface (filename: EGUI.EXE) banner will remain unchanged until the application is restarted or the computer rebooted.

    Beta 2 is being developed and will be available shortly. It will contain much more improvements than beta 1b.
     
  2. Steel

    Steel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    219
    Any News about the V3 StandAlone AV Version, too ? When will it be pushed out or ready for the Beta Status ?
     
  3. stueycaster

    stueycaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    293
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Will Beta 2 support XP x64?
     
  4. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

  5. psychokilla

    psychokilla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Posts:
    171
    There is a problem with 2 of the buttons in the installer :

    http://www.vista-users.co.uk/files/eset.jpg

    I was already running beta1a and tried to upgrade to 1b, beta 1a was still running so I got the screen above, maybe you might want to fix the button labels cos it will confuse people.
     
  6. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    Here install on top worked perfect - didn't get those errros

    Ruben
     
  7. pp965

    pp965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Trial 30 days ? Please tell me.
     
  8. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    All beta versions are free
     
  9. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    one wierd thing though, but happened only once - suddenly screen turned black and notebook restarts - no error message nothing. So far only once :)-((

    Ruben
     
  10. blaine

    blaine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Posts:
    38
    Once again another version is released without x64 support :thumbd:
     
  11. Chappy

    Chappy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    69
    Yah, I got that exact same problem when I installed 1b over 1a...I forgot to get a screenie of it tho so I was going to try and reproduce it. Good thing you got it, so I can confirm this is an issue for others as well.

    Also folks, please read my post on shell freezing during scans and see if any of you can reproduce that issue as well.

    Dave
     
  12. WigglyTheGreat

    WigglyTheGreat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Posts:
    137
    I had the same garbled two buttons in the installer on two different computers. Hitting the enter key on the keyboard got me past it so it was no big deal.
     
  13. Chappy

    Chappy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    69
    I went with the first button myself, since that's "Usually" the OK button or similar...guess we just get lucky sometimes eh!
    ;)
     
  14. leo1948

    leo1948 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Re: ESET Smart Security Public Beta 1b

    install worked perfect - didn't get errors..

    :) :) :) :) :) :) :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  15. pp965

    pp965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Re: ESET Smart Security Public Beta 1b

    Why not function set like
    - add URL black list or white list
    - add function setting
    - add function protection
    - add function network
     
  16. mil

    mil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Any ETA on beta 2?
     
  17. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Eset are currently working on new version (perhaps it will be beta2) and will push it as soon as it is available and ready for the public . :cool:
     
  18. willardjuice

    willardjuice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    It needs x64 support...:'( ...

    The day beta 2 is release will be a great day! :D
     
  19. GaryRW

    GaryRW Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    141
    Location:
    OH, USA
    Seriously, what will 64bit add to capabilities that 32bit doesn't have?. Does it need a larger memory footprint....no. Is it more capable with added x86-64 microcode...no. Is it more efficient in a mixed 32/64 app mix...not on AMD64. And what mobile/desk Windows apps does the majority of customers use, or even have available, that utilizes 64bit?
     
  20. ProTON

    ProTON Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Posts:
    62
    Most "almost driver level" applications have to be specially compiled to run on Windows x64. So there is a need for x64 Eset Suite version.

    As for applications:

    Photoshop CS - access to larger portion of memory
    Farcry - better more detailed textures
    DivX Video - faster encoding

    As applications will become bigger and bigger, 4gbs of RAM will not be enough so 64bit is the future and good antivirus for that future is vital.
     
  21. willardjuice

    willardjuice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    As proton said, there are a few programs out there that make use of 64-bit (ironically 7-Zip being the most used 64-bit application on my computer, followed by Half-Life 2, UT2004k, etc). The reason why I use x64 however is its ability to use all 4GB of my ram (that's a no go on 32-bit Windows). I do many large video encodings that eat up ram very quickly (so I need to make as much use of my ram as I can).

    Either way (I don't care if you think 64-bit is worthless), it doesn't change the fact that I'm on Vista x64 and ESS doesn't work. So I'm still eagerly awaiting the release of beta2.
     
  22. GaryRW

    GaryRW Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    141
    Location:
    OH, USA
    ProTON , willardjuice while you point to apps that can utilize a 64bit environment, you still don't make a case that ESS, or any subcomponents, will provide better protection or be more efficient with 64bit over 32bit. Is not the main area for protection network I/O, in particular the Internet, and 64bit is irrelevent. And even AMON, DMON, EMON serially scan, I believe, so in worst case a file would have to page a few times. Remember, all these files are intercepted and scanned before being loaded. Only the already loaded memory resident programs are in the form for actual use.

    No, if we were talking a native 64bit environment which hosts 32bit very inefficiently (Itanium) if at all (SPARC, Alpha, etc) then 64bit is a given. Itanic's failure was mostly due to it's miserable performance with the vast 32bit app base which was not to be converted in the near future, if ever.

    I think you will find other security suites that have a 64bit version perform about the same as their 32bit version in an environment that doesn't have a penalty for mixed 64/32bit; AMD64 case in point.

    ProTON, I don't know what you mean by "almost driver level" apps. I thought the days of enhanced gaming performance by directly going to device level to bypass OS API's was long-ago over because of MS forcing developers to use DirectX, etc to receive Windows Certification.

    So my contention is that the functional needs of ESS, unlike 64bit needing apps, does not need 64bits and a 32bit utility running in an x86/64 environment suffers little if any performance penalty.
     
  23. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    nothing but ESS needs x64 compatible drivers to install and properly work on Windows XP or Vista x64.
     
  24. rogervernon

    rogervernon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    289
    What about support for Thunderbird?
     
  25. willardjuice

    willardjuice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    GaryRW, 32-bit anti-virus programs do not work on x64 versions of Windows (x86 and x64 versions of Windows have fairly different kernels). Perhaps proton and I weren't being specific enough, we want ESS to be compatible with the x64 kernel (I don't care if the program itself isn't actually complied in x64). I don't want ESS to be 64-bit so it "runs faster", I want ESS to be 64-bit so it works. ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.