eset smart security....no spam toolbar!!!

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by staffy, May 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. staffy

    staffy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    HI......I have recently purchased/installed Eset Smart Security(ESS).....I do not appear to have any toolbar for the managing of SPAM on my Outlook Express. The HELP says that after ESS is installed the toolbar is added but I can't find it anywhere.....I am an inexperienced computer user, can anybody please help meo_O?
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    it should look something similar to this. Is the AntiSpam module enabled?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. zarzenz

    zarzenz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Posts:
    449
    Location:
    UK
    As well as being enabled, it also has to be integrated with the relevant email client. So go to advanced setup and you will see at the very bottom under miscellaneous... email integration... click on this and then put a check against integrate into Outlook Express/Windows Mail.

    When you next open Outlook Express you should then see the icons similar to those shown in Cudni's post.
     
  4. rony474

    rony474 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Posts:
    24
    same for me , in Thunderbird , it also not helping to turn it off an on in F5 menu.
     
  5. estbird

    estbird Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    for rony474:
    Does it exist menu item View > Toolbars > ESET Smart security in your thunderbird?
    Can you create new profile of Thunderbird and setup profile and confirm that toolbar isn't displayed?
    To create new profile start thunerbird from command line thunderbird -P.
     
  6. staffy

    staffy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks for helping......I tried what you advised but it is still no good.......I know this sounds funny but when I started OE my system was a bit sluggish and I think saw the toolbar for just a split second....it then seemed to disappear behind the normal toolbars etc.......any clues?
     
  7. zarzenz

    zarzenz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Posts:
    449
    Location:
    UK
    Hi staffy,

    I wonder if you have a similar problem to what I had with my system.

    Let me just mention this quickly here, in case it is related to your problem... if it is not... then it can be discounted.

    Have you got IE8 installed, and have you got Spybot installed.

    When I installed IE8 my Outlook Express was virtually unusable. I then discovered that Spybot and IE8 do not work happily together due to a conflict in the softwares. This in turn caused my Outlook Express to be very slow also.

    I removed Spybot completely as I reckoned ESS was able to provide all my protection, and in anycase Spybot was starting to have far too many things to check and was taking forever to scan... so it was a good time to remove it from my system... for my own personal requirements.

    Then my Outlook Express was back to normal. I have to be honest and tell you that I don't actually use the ESS antispam feature. This is a personal choice as I always like to see any spam first just in case it amuses me. I can't therefore confirm if the antispam toolbar was affected by the IE8/Spybot issue, but it may be worth checking this possibility first.

    So that's all I can suggest and if everything else is as it should be then there must be another reason for you not seeing the toolbar.

    Maybe others will have more suggestions for you to try.
     
  8. rony474

    rony474 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Posts:
    24
    reinstalled thunderbird - same , and no there is under view > toolbars > only %Product Name%

    Rgds
     
  9. estbird

    estbird Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    have you installed Windows7 x64 Ultimate beta or Windows7 x64 Ultimate RC?
     
  10. rony474

    rony474 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Posts:
    24
    i have RC ultimate ..
     
  11. staffy

    staffy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    sorry...no idea what you are talking about.....I think I will just forget about the spam toolbar...thanks everybody........



     
  12. staffy

    staffy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    no I dont have spybot but I do have IE8.....I think I will just forget about the spam toolbar...thnaks anyway.....





     
  13. staffy

    staffy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    it aint there anywhere......I think I will just forget about it....thanks anyway......


     
  14. staffy

    staffy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    everything appears as everybody tells me it should but it aint anyhwere to be seen....I think I will just forget about the spam toolbar...thanks anyway....

     
  15. K1LL3M

    K1LL3M Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    35
    See this thread

    or specifically the below post

    It is now "Enable email client protection"

    hope it helps
    Cheers
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2009
  16. estbird

    estbird Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    hi,

    rony474 find out this
    "problems where affected with the "test mode" enabled in updates."

    please if you have enabled it try to:
    1. disable "test mode" enabled in updates for while
    2. do update
    3. restart windows
    does this problem appears yet.

    please specify your os version
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.