ESET Smart Security blocking google.com

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by qwert1, Apr 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    you would have to register to test, but since it is going out for testing I would think a fix is not to far off. It is one thing to test an entire product over a module adjustment.
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2009
  2. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    Uh....

    What does all this Beta talk have to do with ESS 4.0?

    Almost sounds like yall consider even the lastest build of ESS to be a Beta.

    As much as it does run like a Beta (i.e. all the numerous complaints about it in this forum), it's not supposed to be.

    ESET's already shot themself in the foot offereing it as a full release. Done them more harm than good.
     
  3. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,131
    no ESET is releasing a new firewall module for testing in a few days per Marcos remarks earlier today & you had to have you setup check to accept beta modules...



     
  4. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    Aha...I was wondering what that "Test Mode" check-box was for.

    That wouldn't have anything to do with the "program modules have been updated" messages...or would it? I've actually gotten 2 of them since installing it yesterday (Monday) morning: one appears to be the Antivirus and antispyware scanner module: 1212 (20090428 ); and the other is: Archive support module: 1094 (20090428 )
     
  5. catnotspam

    catnotspam Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Posts:
    42
    Location:
    haifa
  6. fraaap

    fraaap Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I have had this exact problem since last night (after formatting my PC and reinstalling ESET Smart Security). Google was unavailable for a short while, as were a few more sites. A few hours later it righted itself, but now it has gone again and is blocking almost everything. I found this thread via google after I had unchecked "Block unsafe address after attack detection" - I marked the setting again before clicking the link, and lo and behold this site was blocked too until I unchecked it again. This is my first ever visit to this site, so I have no idea why it would be blocked.

    Edit: Just checked the Test Mode function, so hopefully it will be fixed soon :)
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2009
  7. Riony

    Riony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    A new firewall beta module is coming soon. Let's hope the problem is fixed :D
     
  8. Transsive

    Transsive Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Sites seem to work after I unchecked "block unsafe address after attack detection".

    Just as a side note... when I try to diagnose my network connection windows still reports "cannot communicate with DNS server". When I allow all traffic it goes away. (I can ping the dns server)

    But I can browse again so I'm happy.
     
  9. jhumur

    jhumur Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    I installed ESET Smart Security v4.0.424.0 trial on a fresh install of Windows 7 RC Build 7100. It does seem that ESS is blocking Google Mail, Hotmail, and ironically its own site. (I tried to download EConfickerRemover.exe from the ESET site just for kicks.) I had to turn off "Block unsafe address after attack detection" to reach any of these sites.
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Enabling test mode should download the latest firewall module which won't require disabling blocking access to sites after an attack detection.
     
  11. jhumur

    jhumur Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    Newbie question: how?
     
  12. jhumur

    jhumur Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    sorry, never mind. found it. thanks.
     
  13. jhumur

    jhumur Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    Thank you, Marcos. That helped.
     
  14. GamaFu

    GamaFu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Thanks a lot. I am having trouble connecting to certain sites on my campus wifi network including Google. Once disabled "DSN Poison Attack Detection" and "Block unsafe address after attack detection", it works fine now. However, unchecking them makes me concern about safety. Should I be worried? o_O
     
  15. theseus47

    theseus47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Posts:
    13
    You could update to 1046 (test update), which resolves the issue without disabling those 2 options. No clue what it changed beneath the surface though.

    But incidentally, a thanks to Eset for the resolution of this issue with the test update.
     
  16. GamaFu

    GamaFu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Thanks. After turned on the test mode, and then update, it's been working great. No more randomly block certain websites. :D
     
  17. mmciau

    mmciau Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Marion, South Australia
    Thank goodness I have found this site.

    I'm convalescing after surgery and the Firewall issues set out in this thread have plagued me for about 2 weeks.

    May i ask please

    How do I set the Test Mode so I can get the Test update?

    Kind regards



    Mike McInerney
     
  18. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,446
    F5 -> Updates -> Advanced update setting -> check Test mode
     
  19. mmciau

    mmciau Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Marion, South Australia
    Thank you for your help pegas- it is greatly appreciated

    Regards

    Mike
     
  20. gonzo3000

    gonzo3000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Posts:
    13
    all these problems remind me of the beta phase ... with eset smart security v3.0.684 I don't have any problems ... I have a legal key and can not switch to v4, because it is full of bugs ... I realy like eset, but now it's very sad ...
     
  21. Jenee

    Jenee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    185
    I have to think that the firewall module 1046 has been released as I don't have the test mode checked but several days ago, I received a popup to say that the software modules had been updated and my firewall module is now 1046.
     
  22. Yoghurtt

    Yoghurtt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I have the exact same problem, all google sites are being blocked by ESS v4.0.437 (firewall module 1051), very annoying. Adding a firefox rule in the firewall that allows all traffic for firefox.exe also doesn't work, nor does adding various google addresses to the list of allowed connections and connections excluded from filtering. Disable the Eset firewall and all google sites are suddenly reachable.

    Don't know what's going on, but I hope they fix it. Neither workarounds mentioned in this thread work for me, so I'm back to disabling Eset Personal Firewall and using Windows Firewall if I want to use anything related to Google at all :blink:

    edit: seems like Firefox Addon Updates are also being blocked, but I don't know if it's related to the blocking of Google.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2009
  23. Jenee

    Jenee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    185
    I have firewall module 1051 and it is definitely not blocking Google or any Google applications. You may have to change to Interactive Mode if you are not already using it, remove any rules relating to Firefox or any other web browser that you are using and any rules for Google and then start again. As soon as you open a web browser you should get the Eset box asking you to allow it again.
     
  24. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Please do not post queries concerning different topics and product versions to inappropriate threads. Your post has been moved here.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2009
  25. Yoghurtt

    Yoghurtt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Why do I have to change to a mode I prefer not using? Why does this problem pop up now all of the sudden? There must be something in some recent update that's triggered this. A workaround is not a solution.

    I use automatic mode with exceptions, and if I can't set it there I'm going to stop using ESS and go back to NOD32 with ZoneAlarm, as I'm pretty disappointed with ESS 4 so far.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.