Eset Smart Security And Eset Nod32 Antivirus 8 Beta Available

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by puff-m-d, Aug 5, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2014
  2. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,054
    Thank you for sharing. I will definitely test it.
     
  3. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello hqsec,

    You are most welcome...
    I went ahead and did a clean install. Installation, set-up, and first smart scan went smooth with no issues. Initial impressions are scanning seems to be a little bit faster and resource usage/footprint has not changed any noticeable amount. So far, so good, but it has only been on my system for a few hours now...
     
  4. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    New York City
    Thanks puff-m-d.
     
  5. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,054
    First minor problem with Emsisoft Emergency Kit: I can't update EEK definitions unless I exclude a2emergencykit.exe from http scanning. I never had this problem with previous version. I reported it through their beta feedback form.
     
  6. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  7. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I hope they simplify the settings page
     
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Beta working flawlessly, as I expect from Eset. But please go back to the old tray icon like in 5 and 6. I hate the e
     
  9. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i love the current gui so im fine if they decide not to change it. i also like the older tray icon though
     
  10. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    525
    I tried this out on one of my machines. It had constant CPU spikes, failed to detect some simple test files and would not uninstall at all.:(
     
  11. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,190
    Location:
    USA,IA
    Make sure you report the feedback :)
     
  12. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    525
    Will do. Thanks.
     
  13. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    New York City
    With all the problems with java, nobody uses it any more. So the added exploit protection is no big deal.
     
  14. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    784
    Small changelog for a major version, but no problem, Eset is already rock solid and powerful.
     
  15. stephentony

    stephentony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    USA
    For the few who may want to run this beta along with EAM 9.0, there is a conflict that leaves EAM unable to download updates. Also, if NOD32 8 beta is installed first, EAM will get hung up during the install process and unable to process your key code. This was on one of my test PC's on which I experiment a bit with security combos that work well together if properly configured and with special guides provided by our esteemed member Umbra Polaris who knows all when it comes to this topic. :thumb:. I will report this to the Eset beta team.
     
  16. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,054
    @stephentony I had similar problem with Emsisoft Emergency Kit trying to download updates. I solved the problem by disabling http scanning for EEK process.
     
  17. stephentony

    stephentony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks hqsec! It does work. How did you figure that one out? It never occurred to me to try that.
     
  18. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,054
    Well I just thought it has to do something with network connection. Since I had AV (no firewall) there was only http scanner component left that might break connection. I reported the problem through their online form.
     
  19. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    I want something like avast hardened aggressive mode (a cloud-assisted exe-dll lockdown), it would fix performance speed
     
  20. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    anti-executables like Faronics/EXE Radar Pro, combined to cloud whitelist is more intuitive than current HIPS ruleEditor
     
  21. Motherroad

    Motherroad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    Florida
    I never have been able to update Eset out of standby on a consistent basis. It is the reason I have used others in the past. This Beta is no different. When mentioned in the past nothing was done. Still a random problem.
     
  22. reldel

    reldel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Felton, DE, USA
    Have seen problem often on set ups, try from GUI, Setup>Advanced Setup>Update>Settings>Advanced update setup>Setup>HTTP Proxy>Check do not use proxy server>OK>OK. Reboot and see if problem is resolved. In my experience this corrects the problem most times.
     
  23. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
  24. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Over at the ESET Forum you may add this to future product enhancements and changes.

    Future changes to ESET NOD32 Antivirus

    https://forum.eset.com/topic/1169-future-changes-to-eset-nod32-antivirus/

    ESET has already acknowledged small DPI as being a bug.

    See: https://forum.eset.com/topic/2640-nod32-and-ess-do-not-seem-to-scale-the-ui-wiht-high-dpi/

    Regards,

     
  25. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.