eset smart security 5 slows down my computer

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by maaster, Sep 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maaster

    maaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    Hi to all,
    I always trusted ESET products for its speed and accuracy and I have used ESS 4 and tried ESS 5 beta.now recently I installed final version of ESS 5.my computer's configuration is pentium dual core and 4gb RAM and OS is vista.first I tried to install trough live installation.after downloading all the files,the installer said "installation failed".next I downloaded the offline installer and tried to install and I was surprised that the installation had been finished.
    First I found that my computer was very slower compared to ESS4 and ESS 5 beta.I am using wireless connection to connect to the internet.it will connect within 10 seconds.But now after installing ESS 5,it takes more than 5 minutes.during that if i try to do any other task my computer is not responding.after connecting also my computer hangs frequently.I found that computer hang only when ESET icon turns full green and one cuve is circling in clockwise direction.But i was not able to find what it is.now i uninstalled with ESET uninstaller.now my computer works fine.again i installed ESS 5.It again started to hang.So now for the time being I uninstalled it again..pls help me to overcome this problem...I am very curious to try ESET 5......

    with regards,
    maaster.
     
  2. varunit

    varunit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    79
    I have just now tried the final version of Eset smart security. My system also hanged. Now I am posting this in safe mode with networking. I have always trusted Eset products. But this really disappointed me. I first thought about the slow and hanging because of superantispyware pro working side by side. I removed it and to my surprise, the hanging and slowing down remained the same.. Now i need to get rid of ESS 5.. :(
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    When reporting a problem please also include information about your OS, platform (32/64-bit) and whether disabling real-time protection (or its automatic start) makes a difference.
     
  4. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    What about performing a typical installation?
     
  5. maaster

    maaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    I already mentioned .it is pentium dual core and 4gb RAM and OS is vista.I did not try disabling real-time protection .but i tried disabling HIPS and firewall and disabling scan removal media.......
     
  6. maaster

    maaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    pls tell me,what do tou mean by typical installation?I have installed with the recommended settings only.(not changed any setting)
     
  7. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    When you are installing the product you can choose between typical and custom, try the typical.
     
  8. maaster

    maaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    I think typical is only the recommended settings.i installed typical only
     
  9. maaster

    maaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    now again i tried installing ESS 5 with the live installer.still it is downloading all the files but it is not installing saying ERROR.I think some problem with offline installer regarding the slowdown of my computer.Is there anyone who used the offline installer and not experiencing any problems?and why the offline installer installs ESS 5 but live installer fail to do so?This must be addressed seriously......
     
  10. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Why dont you submit a support ticket with Eset?

    Everyone's machine and setups are so different and there are so many idiosyncrasies in windows alone, that posting here may not get the best results.

    Good luck.
     
  11. Thiggy

    Thiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Posts:
    82
    Make sure Windows Firewall, Windows Defender or any other AV or firewall is disabled -- you'll find them in Control Panel.

    For the cleanest ESS install, uninstall any prior versions via Control Panel, reboot, use the Uninstallers (removal tools) for common antivirus software found in the ESET Support knowedge base, reboot and install.
     
  12. maaster

    maaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    I think the problem was with the start up scan.It ran frequently and slowed down my computer.now i disabled it.still my computer is little slow.i want to reenable start up scan without slowing my computer.pls help me....
     
  13. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    You should send a SysInspector log to Customer care.
     
  14. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    What are the specs of your computer? Maybe that has something to do with your problem.
     
  15. HealingStargate

    HealingStargate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    160
    Location:
    USA
    I admit I don't know if my experience is relevant, however, I did have some problems a few days after my installing V5 'over' V4.

    I used the 'live installer' and it worked well to install V5 without deleting V4.

    Two days into having V5 running smoothly, I started having freezing of my entire system. Everything stopped working and just froze. I had to hard reboot many times as the problem continued.

    I decided to use REVO uninstaller and put it into the lightest uninstall mode and then did the ESET live installer again and it took care of the glitches I was having.

    KOR-
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2011
  16. Misjkakend

    Misjkakend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    I agree with that fact that ESS 5 slows down PC. My PC has started to hang during shut down on state Logging off and on welcome screen when turning on. Is there any solution to fix this problem?

    I have Win 7 X32, Intel Core I5 750, 4 GB Ram. Done clean install but it does not help.
     
  17. Somersett

    Somersett Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    Similar issue here with Eset Smart Security 5 ( happened again a few minutes ago with Virus Signature Database Update 6473.) Seems to occurs when System Startup File Check Runs (after Logon and/or Update.) Computer slows right down and programmes stop responding which is usually only cured by a reboot. I have disabled Automatic User Logon System Startup File Check to see if that helps.

    Windows Vista Home Premium with Service Pack 2 (32 Bit)
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo E8400@3.00GHz
     
  18. tommy456

    tommy456 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Posts:
    137
    Yeah, there is sometimes a delay in loading eset ss4/5 as this happened with ss4 as well on occasions, but once it loads completely the freeze up stops, it may have something to do with the start up scan ??
     
  19. varunit

    varunit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    79
    I have also tried the live installer option, but after the download completed, it ended with an error, just saying a "1" in a message box..:mad:
     
  20. Thiggy

    Thiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Posts:
    82
    Error 1 is the result of the installer detecting another AV already installed -- or its registry residuals after an uninstall. There have been some other mentions about Error 1 in the ESS forum. On my machine, I used a registry editor to remove all Norton and Symantec keys -- after a reboot, ESS installed perfectly. ESET has replicated Error 1 and is looking into the issue.
     
  21. varunit

    varunit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    79
    Yes, I've installed norton previously. I removed it using Norton removal tool, completely. So, I'll try cleaning the leftovers using any registry cleaner, then try to install ESS
     
  22. varunit

    varunit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    79
    I have tried to install ESS 5 using Offline installer, but I have encountered this screen, I have also done the cleaning job using ccleaner, Tune-up utilities reg cleaner.. Have a look at it and reply guys..
     

    Attached Files:

    • nort.jpg
      nort.jpg
      File size:
      41.5 KB
      Views:
      4,137
  23. Thiggy

    Thiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Posts:
    82
    I searched for Norton and Symantec using a registry editor, deleted the found keys, rebooted and installed ESS V5. A registry editor that offers to save a backup of the deleted keys is recommended.
     
  24. varunit

    varunit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    79
    I have removed Norton keys from registry and installed successfully..

    Now,I have another issue with ESS.. I tried to update ESS, Currently the virus defs update is 6364, but the latest updates available is 6475.. When i clicked update, ESS says that the defs are up-to-date...
     
  25. varunit

    varunit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    79
    I cannot update, pls help me out guys...
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.