ESET Smart Security 5 Registration - Breaking Windows

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by dizafrabadoo, Sep 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dizafrabadoo

    dizafrabadoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    It's confirmed on 3 computers now. Every time I upgrade from ESET Smart Security 4 to ESET Smart Security 5, it breaks my Windows login process. It completely hangs at the login page and it WILL NOT properly allow Windows to log in. I have even done a FRESH install of ESET Smart Security 5 and it still hangs at the login screen after inputting my password.

    I have to essentially completely uninstall ESET using the ESET Uninstaller from Safe Mode to be able to get back into my Windows operating system. Those of you having this same problem, you can get the uninstaller here:

    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN2289

    I guess in the meantime, reverting back to ESET Smart Security 4 from the following link fixes my problem:

    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN2111

    Not a happy camper as I've wasted a lot of time upgrading only to find that it breaks my Windows login process.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011
  2. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    FYI. From the release note.

    Try to install from scratch, a fresh install. I always do that when new versions come out to avoid issues. :)
     
  3. dizafrabadoo

    dizafrabadoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Already did it from scratch - having the same problem still. Windows still hangs at the login screen after inputting my password to get into my desktop (and I still can't into my desktop until I use the ESET Uninstaller). Like i've said, I used the ESET Uninstaller and only use the ESET Smart Security 5 installer; same results.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    An issue like this haven't been reported during the beta testing of v5 nor after the release yet. Could you investigate if disabling automatic real-time protection start make a difference? At any rate, we'd need a complete memory dump from the moment the system freezes so that we can determine the cause. I'd suggest contacting customer care who will be happy to assist you in resolving it.
     
  5. dizafrabadoo

    dizafrabadoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    The system never freezes really, it just gets stuck in a never-ending loading process... a dump isn't created because it doesn't crash. It just loads, forever or until I hard reset and boot into safemode and uninstall with the ESET Uninstaller.

    Also, it appears, registration doesn't cause a problem, because it is registered just fine apparently. It simply just has an issue after being fully FRESH installed, at least on two of my systems, both running Windows 7 64-bit. I shall try disabling real-time protection, per your suggestion.
     
  6. dizafrabadoo

    dizafrabadoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Alright, so here's the quandary...

    Obviously, I cannot get into my operating system, since it won't load. So, how can I disable real-time protection? And if I go into Safe Mode, it won't load the ESET Smart Security 5 ui... as it's very limited and will only do a virus scan, etc.

    Next troubleshooting tip?
     
  7. dizafrabadoo

    dizafrabadoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    To the rest of the staff / community that actually offered help as opposed to being a dbag like "Matrix Leader"... thanks for trying to help.

    I have to admit that, I've been an ESET user for many, many, years now... but I'm not to fond of the install process of ESS 5. I prefer an advanced install option. Just my two cents. That way, I could actually install and perhaps even disable real-time protection, if that is, in fact the problem.
     
  8. dvk01

    dvk01 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Posts:
    3,131
    Location:
    Loughton, Essex. UK
    Matrix leader, just because you are not having any problems. doesn't mean that other users aren't

    With the numerous different configurations of window, any security vendor ( or indeed any program developer) can expect a small % of users to have some problems.

    Users come here to be helped with problems or report any problems. They don't come here to be insulted

    Edit: I have deleted 2 posts with the most insulting comments, so they can be "reviewed" by Admin who might decide to restore them or might leave them deleted

    Keep this on topic with detailed explanations of the problems and please only respond if you have sensible suggestions to help. Further insults or " it doesn't happen to me" are not helpful and are liable to be removed
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011
  9. DarkAvenger

    DarkAvenger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    dizafrabadoo,
    you are not alone. I have exactly same issue - Windows ligin never ends. It is Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64. Windows login procedure does not pass the "Welcome" message - need to power off and deinstall the ESS in Safe mode in order to use my system again. If I disable the "Start Real-time ....automatically" just after the installation (before first restart), Windows login fine again. I hope the issue will be resolved soon.
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Could you please provide more information about the OS and platform (32/64-bit)? A dump can be generated manually at any time. Please follow the instructions at http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN380 to configure Windows for manual dump generation. It is very likely we'll be able to pinpoint the cause from a complete memory dump from the moment of freeze / stuck.
     
  11. DarkAvenger

    DarkAvenger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Markus,
    the system does not crash - just sit and wait forever with spinning "Welcome" wheel. The OS is Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64 (see my comment above). Disable "Start Real-time ... automatically" solves the problem - I'm able to login again. And I have this in my event log:
    "The winlogon notification subscriber <GPClient> was unavailable to handle a notification event."
    Hope this helps.
     
  12. dvk01

    dvk01 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Posts:
    3,131
    Location:
    Loughton, Essex. UK
    Marcos, you can't do a memory dump, because you cannot log in to windows
    It appears that this is happening in W7 64 bit & it stops windows logging in
    I don't know if any of these users have any other security software on the computer
    I am guessing that this is going to be a network issue, where realtime protection is looking for various rulesets from the cloud and the network isn't available until AFTER user has logged in, causing ESS to block the unknown process ( login )

    To any users with this problem:
    Are you using wireless connection or wired connection
    If wireless is it an external USB modem or internal built in wireless card

    If you arre wireless can you see if this happens when connected via a hard wired connection, direct to the router/modem
     
  13. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    In order to generate memory dumps manually it is not necessary to be logged in to Windows. At the moment the graphics mode is started it should be already possible to generate dumps manually.
     
  14. DarkAvenger

    DarkAvenger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    dvk01,
    for me it happens on ThinkPad W500 with build in wireless Intel 5300 AGN. Unfortunately, I have no access to the wired connection right now to test it.
     
  15. dizafrabadoo

    dizafrabadoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    - I've tried on both a wired / wireless connection (internal) and it happens on both.
    - I don't have any other antivirus / firewall running
    - Running Windows 7 64-bit on all 3 systems I've tried

    I guess I can try to install on one Vista 32-bit system and see if I can replicate it. But this will have to be tested tomorrow as I'm tired / running out of steam :)
     
  16. ScoScorpio

    ScoScorpio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Posts:
    11
    I have the same problem,The OS has been stopped in the welcome screen,Can not enter the desktop,Finally, I can only enter the safe mode uninstall ESS 5.
     
  17. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Did you install v5 using Live Installer or you ran an msi installer and chose custom installation ?
     
  18. DarkAvenger

    DarkAvenger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Marcos,
    installed from msi and choose custom installation (to change the installation drive from C to D). Typical installation does not help at all.
     
  19. dprylows

    dprylows Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    same issue here.

    removed version 4, reboot, run live install, custom install, reboot, now can't log into machine.

    os is win 7 64
     
  20. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Please generate somebody a complete memory dump as I advised above. We'll analyze it and try to find a temporary workaround immediately.
     
  21. iPanik

    iPanik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    Hi
    I have the same problem, or at least a very similar one. In my case the system only locks up at login sometimes, maybe one in five times this happens.
    I have found that it is caused by loss of internet connection. My internet is a bit unstable at times. When ESS 5 is installed and i loose the connection, the system doesn't freeze but is unable to connect again. When i then reboot the system, the system locks up at login. A hard reset is required to bring it back to life. This goes on until the internet is available again, then everything is normal again.

    Hope that made sense. :)

    I am on win7 64, and i have experienced this with both wired and wireless connections to the router.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011
  22. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    I hope one of you guys can get Marcos that memory dump that he is asking for, so that Eset can get this sorted.

    Cheers.
     
  23. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    We have reproduced the issue. It seems that installing v5 on other than the system partition may cause the lockup on Win7 x64. We're investigating it and will let you know if we have some news.
     
  24. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Thanks for the update Marcos. So we should be ok with installing on win7 X64 on the system (C) partition?

    Cheers.
     
  25. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Please try it and report back. There has been one person who claimed that neither installing v5 using Live Installer and using default settings didn't make a difference. However, all these cases have one thing in common and that is installation on other than the system drive.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.