ESET Remote Administrator v3.0.105 released

Discussion in 'Other ESET Home Products' started by agoretsky, Feb 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    ESET Remote Administrator v3.0.105 has been released. This release contains the following changes:
    • fixed issue with installation over previous versions when using Remote Desktop
    • fixed a possible vulnerability with HTML injection in generated reports
    • fixed issue with replication of deleted clients
    • fixed issue with reinstalling ESET Remote Administrator Server on Microsoft Windows Server 2003 running the Terminal Server service
    • fixed issue with reinstallation over previous versions with data migration when using Microsoft SQL Server as a database server
    • fixed issue with installation to 64-bit Windows Server 2008 Microsoft SQL Server database servers
    • fixed [SIZE=-1]CFGEDIT[/SIZE] not requesting confirmation when modifying or changing values
    • updated PDF documentation
    For more information, or to download a copy, please visit ESET's web site here or contact your local distributor or reseller.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  2. Geosoft

    Geosoft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Hi Aryeh,

    I'm having problems applying this upgrade to our 3 servers running Windows Server 2003 Appliance Edition (Dell) through Remote Desktop. Our 3 other servers running Windows Server 2003 Standard Edition had no issues.

    I'm going to keep fiddling around with this and see what I can find to resolve the problem, but here is the preliminary install log errors.

    Code:
    <2009-02-02 16:40:00> Current context has administrator privileges
    <2009-02-02 16:40:00> CreateSqlDatabase: Entered
    <2009-02-02 16:40:00> Database platform: MS Access
    <2009-02-02 16:40:00> Selected MS Acces database (creation is not necessary)
    <2009-02-02 16:40:00> SafeServiceOperation (type=0)
    <2009-02-02 16:40:00> Stopping prior server 'ERA_SERVER'...
    <2009-02-02 16:40:00> Old server is not running, current state: 'service stopped' (1)
    <2009-02-02 16:40:01> LogInstallInfo: AppDir=C:\Program Files\ESET\ESET Remote Administrator\Server\
    <2009-02-02 16:40:01> LogInstallInfo: StorageDir=C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\ESET\ESET Remote Administrator\Server\storage\
    <2009-02-02 16:40:01> LogInstallInfo: DatabaseDir=C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\ESET\ESET Remote Administrator\Server\database\
    <2009-02-02 16:40:01> FixTerminalServer: Entered
    <2009-02-02 16:40:03> InitLog: Entered
    <2009-02-02 16:40:04> UninstallExecute: Entered
    <2009-02-02 16:40:04> Uninstaling due to reinstalation from version 2 and higher
    <2009-02-02 16:40:04> Deleting default packages...
    <2009-02-02 16:40:04> Deleting modules...
    <2009-02-02 16:40:04> UnregisterSnmpAgent: Entered
    <2009-02-02 16:40:04> Error while reading registry (SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SNMP\Parameters\ExtensionAgents\)
    
    I'll report back if I manage to get the install to work.


    Cheers,

    Jason Chambers
     
  3. Geosoft

    Geosoft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Looks like it's tough love for me. I had to use the Windows Installer Cleanup utility, delete the program files and registry to get going again.

    Thankully I had no clients on those satilite offices yet, so rebuilding from ground up isn't too much of a problem for me.
     
  4. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    After you removed it, did you install the new version? Did it work?
     
  5. Geosoft

    Geosoft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Well, it didn't remove either. The uninstaller didn't work, which is why I had to use the Windows Installer Cleanup, delete the registry keys and the program files.

    Once I have completed those things, I was able to sucessfully install the latest version on to these systems, but I had to rebuild the configuration from scratch again. Thankfully I documented everything so it wasn't that much of a challenge.
     
  6. edwin3333

    edwin3333 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Posts:
    244
    3.0.105 screwed up my production admin server.

    At another site, it was fine.

    Parts of the log where errors occured;

    Now I have no admin server. I'm going to try uninstalling and reinstalling. Fun.

    <2009-02-03 13:56:36> UninstallExecute: Entered
    <2009-02-03 13:56:36> Uninstaling due to reinstalation from version 2 and higher
    <2009-02-03 13:56:36> Deleting default packages...
    <2009-02-03 13:56:36> Deleting modules...
    <2009-02-03 13:56:36> UnregisterSnmpAgent: Entered
    <2009-02-03 13:56:36> Error while reading registry (SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SNMP\Parameters\ExtensionAgents\)

    For 3.0.39 the following command line is the modify entry;
    MsiExec.exe /I{20A04C1A-F264-45A2-8CBA-443C121269C1}

    That let me repair 3.0.39 but required a reboot... Then it would not uninstall. Errored out due to being an upgrade from 2.0.

    So I had to do the MSIZap like the above post. Then I removed the Admin Server registry entries in HKLM under software/eset/ remote admin server keys. Still wouldn't upgrade.

    Then I had to remove the program files including my database. Once I did that, I had a clean new install with all my settings lost.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2009
  7. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    It doesn't seem upgrade friendly, I guess people should uninstall old versions before installing this new version.
     
  8. dinox

    dinox Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    The same error.....
    ....
    <2009-02-06 15:55:14> Uninstaling due to reinstalation from version 2 and higher
    <2009-02-06 15:55:14> Deleting default packages...
    <2009-02-06 15:55:14> Deleting modules...
    <2009-02-06 15:55:15> UnregisterSnmpAgent: Entered
    <2009-02-06 15:55:15> Error while reading registry (SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SNMP\Parameters\ExtensionAgents\)

    ..still the same problems with installers..
     
  9. guest

    guest Guest

    I have same error :( ...
    Error while reading registry (SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SNMP\Parameters\ExtensionAgents\)
     
  10. dinox

    dinox Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    helllloo ..any solution ??
     
  11. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    The solution as stated above, is to do a clean reinstall.
     
  12. dinox

    dinox Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    no comments... :(
     
  13. edwin3333

    edwin3333 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Posts:
    244
    Clean install kinda sucks when you have a bunch of policy, policy rules, and reports.
     
  14. flom

    flom Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    if your reinstallation/uninstallation of ERA ends up with

    "Error while reading registry (SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SNMP\Parameters\ExtensionAgents\)"

    this should help:

    - run regedit and find key [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SNMP\Parameters\ExtensionAgents]
    - right-click on an empty value "(Default)" and choose Delete
    - re-run the installation
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 18, 2009
  15. sd_mark

    sd_mark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I was unable to uninstall Remote Admin Server 3.0.39 from Control Panel.

    Ran the original installer and selected Remove. Got the same error in the log as above.

    Deleted the registry key as shown (thanks flom). Nothing was deleted (or maybe it deleted and re-added because it always has to have a Default?).

    Ran the original installer and selected Remove. This time it worked!

    That's great, but WHY did it work? What does deleting that key actually do?

    Mark
     
  16. elavoie

    elavoie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Posts:
    6

    That work for me, solved the issue.
     
  17. PII_David

    PII_David Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Just want everyone to know that we experienced the SAME error as others have stated above.

    Deleting the Default registry key in the mentioned Registry section did the trick (the 2nd time.) Glad I found this post!

    Both RA & RC are at 3.0.105 now... all configs are present & accounted for.

    David
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.