ESET Performance dissapointing against Sirefef

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Mayrussell, Aug 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mayrussell

Mayrussell Registered Member

Hi,

Over the last few months I've had a few problems combating the various forms Sirefef. In particular, Win32/Sirefef.FC and the EV variants of the trojan.

I administer around 25 workstations on our network. I'm no expert in the field of IT administrator, but I am running everyone on the latest Windows 7, ESET 5, WSUS patches/updates and everything else with strict web control.

Problem is, that I'm still getting quite a few computers that are being completely hijacked - to the point where services.exe is hijacked, sfc /scanow becomes corrupt and even MSE essentials offline installer fails to remove it. Windows services like Firewall are shut down etc... a complete system meltdown! :)

I'm not sure when or who this nasty virus is getting in but it only seems to become noticeable when one of those fake av programs like "Live Security Platinum" pops up. What is quite disappointing is that even when these malicious programs are obviously running is that ESET completely misses what's going on - it seems to be totally oblivious to the system being hijacked and on this particular time, it was too late once it discovered services.exe was hijacked. It only a free program, Malwarebytes to remove most of the malware. However as mentioned today was the final straw as services.exe was comprised - so I reformatted.

Question is, are the any other steps I can take to further prevent these serious outbreaks? I think ditching IE9 for Chrome would be an excellent start, but are there any other important features or settings I can turn on in ESET Standpoint Security 5 that are not on by default? increased HIPS rules? Or further adding in another program in the background that everyone recommends? :doubt:

2. m0unds

m0unds Guest