Eset nod32 v3.0.672.0 disables Windows Vista Firewall

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by deanoz, Dec 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deanoz

    deanoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    o_O Has anyone stumbled across this anomoly ? o_O

    Eset nod32 v3.0.672.0 disables Windows Vista Firewall.

    Using latest Eset antivirus with Windows Vista Ultimate SP1.

    As soon as the antivirus is installed previous & newly created firewall rules do not work !

    Any help would be gratefull
     
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Do you make differencen between ESET NOD32 Antivirus and ESET Smart Security ?
     
  3. deanoz

    deanoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Re: Eset nod32 v3.0.672.0 Anti-Virus disables Windows Vista Firewall

    .....Using latest Eset NOD32 Antivirus v3.0.672.0 with Windows Vista Ultimate SP1.
     
  4. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    http://www.eset.com/products/

    Not ESET Smart Security ?

    Because ESET Smart Security includes firewall and it would be normal for it to disable WF , but not for EAV .

    With ESET NOD32 Antivirus - I have installed on many machines and I haven't come accross such behaviour . It must be something else disabling the firewall
     
  5. deanoz

    deanoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Confiming Eset Nod32 Antivirus. After I install this product it disables my Vista firewall rules, (not the firewall) that I have created & worked before the installation. As soon as I uninstall the product my firewall rules work again !!!

    The firewall as such is enabled, but the RULES don't work!
     
  6. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    This is something different .

    Let's try with ESET NOD32 v4 . I was thinking of something that should be different in v4 , you'll see.


    1. Download ESET NOD32 Antivirus 4.0.68 (beta) from
    http://www.eset.eu/download/beta . Make sure that you choose the correct version.

    2. Uninstall your current version
    3. Reboot the computer when prompted
    4. Delete manually these folders:

    - C:\Program data\Eset
    - C:\Users\~username~\AppData\Local\Eset
    - C:\Users\~username~\AppData\Roaming\Eset

    5. Install your ESET NOD32 v4 software using the file you downloaded in step1 . Use typical install. :thumb:
     
  7. deanoz

    deanoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Well installed the ESET NOD32 Antivirus 4 BETA & my recently debunked firewall rules have no come BACK TO LIFE !

    So at the end of the day these versions work (ie without it disabling any firewall rules in Windows Vista Ultimate SP1)
    1/ :D ESET NOD32 ANTIVIRUS version 2.70.39 :D &
    2/ :D ESET NOD32 ANTIVIRUS version 4.0.68 :D (beta)

    However ............
    :thumbd: ----> ESET NOD32 ANTIVIRUS version 3.0.672 <---- :thumbd: does not !

    I wonder how many users out in the real world now this is rendering their firewall rules useless o_O
     
  8. deanoz

    deanoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks for that Hi Tech....

    So what did you actually mean by this statement ? o_O
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,408
    The rules for http/pop3 communication will not work with most firewalls because the http/po3 traffic is redirected through ekrn for filtering by default. However, you can exclude desired applications from filtering by putting a red cross next to the application name in the web browsers/email clients setup.
     
  10. deanoz

    deanoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Hi Marcos,

    I've setup a rule in Windows Vista Firewall to disallow traffic to port 80 for a 3rd party application. This fails when using ESET V3. You mention ..
    ... so where do I do this ??

    And why does ESET antivirus V2 & V4 work successfully by default except V3 ??

    Any help would be appreciated !
     
  11. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    You can see it here :

    v3_web_browsers.PNG

    With v2 and v4 under Vista you experience no problems because they are different products and they use different ways to filter/scan the http/pop3 traffic. v2's IMON was stuck at the Winsock as an LSP
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Layered_Service_Provider

    v3's web filter in Vista has been done as a local proxy server
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proxy_server

    v4's web filter in Vista uses Windows Filtering Platform , available in Vista and Win Server 2008 only
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_Filtering_Platform


    The problem in your case comes from the local proxy which makes all HTTP traffic passes through it.
     
  12. deanoz

    deanoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks Hi Tech Boy,

    Seemed to resolve my issue ! :D

    I don't understand why ESET have programmed this application this way o_O
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.