Eset nod32 v3.0.672.0 disables Windows Vista Firewall

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by deanoz, Dec 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deanoz

    deanoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    o_O Has anyone stumbled across this anomoly ? o_O

    Eset nod32 v3.0.672.0 disables Windows Vista Firewall.

    Using latest Eset antivirus with Windows Vista Ultimate SP1.

    As soon as the antivirus is installed previous & newly created firewall rules do not work !

    Any help would be gratefull
     
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Do you make differencen between ESET NOD32 Antivirus and ESET Smart Security ?
     
  3. deanoz

    deanoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Re: Eset nod32 v3.0.672.0 Anti-Virus disables Windows Vista Firewall

    .....Using latest Eset NOD32 Antivirus v3.0.672.0 with Windows Vista Ultimate SP1.
     
  4. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    http://www.eset.com/products/

    Not ESET Smart Security ?

    Because ESET Smart Security includes firewall and it would be normal for it to disable WF , but not for EAV .

    With ESET NOD32 Antivirus - I have installed on many machines and I haven't come accross such behaviour . It must be something else disabling the firewall
     
  5. deanoz

    deanoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Confiming Eset Nod32 Antivirus. After I install this product it disables my Vista firewall rules, (not the firewall) that I have created & worked before the installation. As soon as I uninstall the product my firewall rules work again !!!

    The firewall as such is enabled, but the RULES don't work!
     
  6. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    This is something different .

    Let's try with ESET NOD32 v4 . I was thinking of something that should be different in v4 , you'll see.


    1. Download ESET NOD32 Antivirus 4.0.68 (beta) from
    http://www.eset.eu/download/beta . Make sure that you choose the correct version.

    2. Uninstall your current version
    3. Reboot the computer when prompted
    4. Delete manually these folders:

    - C:\Program data\Eset
    - C:\Users\~username~\AppData\Local\Eset
    - C:\Users\~username~\AppData\Roaming\Eset

    5. Install your ESET NOD32 v4 software using the file you downloaded in step1 . Use typical install. :thumb:
     
  7. deanoz

    deanoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Well installed the ESET NOD32 Antivirus 4 BETA & my recently debunked firewall rules have no come BACK TO LIFE !

    So at the end of the day these versions work (ie without it disabling any firewall rules in Windows Vista Ultimate SP1)
    1/ :D ESET NOD32 ANTIVIRUS version 2.70.39 :D &
    2/ :D ESET NOD32 ANTIVIRUS version 4.0.68 :D (beta)

    However ............
    :thumbd: ----> ESET NOD32 ANTIVIRUS version 3.0.672 <---- :thumbd: does not !

    I wonder how many users out in the real world now this is rendering their firewall rules useless o_O
     
  8. deanoz

    deanoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks for that Hi Tech....

    So what did you actually mean by this statement ? o_O
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    The rules for http/pop3 communication will not work with most firewalls because the http/po3 traffic is redirected through ekrn for filtering by default. However, you can exclude desired applications from filtering by putting a red cross next to the application name in the web browsers/email clients setup.
     
  10. deanoz

    deanoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Hi Marcos,

    I've setup a rule in Windows Vista Firewall to disallow traffic to port 80 for a 3rd party application. This fails when using ESET V3. You mention ..
    ... so where do I do this ??

    And why does ESET antivirus V2 & V4 work successfully by default except V3 ??

    Any help would be appreciated !
     
  11. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    You can see it here :

    v3_web_browsers.PNG

    With v2 and v4 under Vista you experience no problems because they are different products and they use different ways to filter/scan the http/pop3 traffic. v2's IMON was stuck at the Winsock as an LSP
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Layered_Service_Provider

    v3's web filter in Vista has been done as a local proxy server
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proxy_server

    v4's web filter in Vista uses Windows Filtering Platform , available in Vista and Win Server 2008 only
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_Filtering_Platform


    The problem in your case comes from the local proxy which makes all HTTP traffic passes through it.
     
  12. deanoz

    deanoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks Hi Tech Boy,

    Seemed to resolve my issue ! :D

    I don't understand why ESET have programmed this application this way o_O
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.