ESET NOD32 Antivirus v4 compatibility update for Vista/Server 2008 SP2

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by agoretsky, Jun 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Testing of the new Anti-Stealth module to improve compatibility between ESET Smart Security and ESET NOD32 Antivirus v4.0 and Microsoft Windows Vista / Windows Server 2008 Service Pack 2 has successfully completed and distribution has begun. The updated module will be downloaded automatically when a virus signature database update occurs in ESET Smart Security and ESET NOD32 Antivirus.

    After the update is downloaded, the entry for the Anti-Stealth module in the About window for ESET Smart Security and ESET NOD32 Antivirus v4 will appear as [SIZE=-1]Anti-Stealth support module: 1012 (20090526)[/SIZE]. The update is also installed if your Anti-Stealth module has a newer version or release date.

    If Anti-Stealth was disabled as a temporary workaround, re-enable it by opening the ESET Graphic User Interface, pressing the F5 key to open the Advanced Setup window, selecting Antivirus and Antispyware in the left navigation pane and enabling (checking) the Enable Anti-Stealth Technology option in the right pane.

    A special thanks to those who provided ESET SysInspector logs and memory dumps. Your assistance in troubleshooting the issue is appreciated.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2009
  2. bornconfuzd

    bornconfuzd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Hello agoretsky,

    Thanks for the good news! Does this mean that we can/should turn off "test mode" once the update has been downloaded?

    Thanks,

    Larry
     
  3. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    You certainly can if you like, however, any other modules that were downloaded for testing will revert back to their last production versions.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky

     
  4. bornconfuzd

    bornconfuzd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Posted by FunkyDude;

    At this link https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=244205

    So, this is where even people like me who really like Eset start getting cranky. There was a reason I asked agoretsky if we could/should disable test mode. The reason is I did not know, and I did not know what other steps to take.

    Either agoretsky's answer was incomplete or funkydude's response was incorrect.

    agoretsky, could you please respond to funkydude's response above and please tell us, (a sticky would be nice until this is all cleared up with a new build), just exactly what it is we should be doing?

    Thanks,

    Larry
     
  5. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    agoretsky, txs for offering the final fix. :thumb:

    Regards,

    Smokey
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    It's quite straightforward - if you merely want to keep the SP2 fix, leave test mode disabled. If you want to participate on the development and receive beta modules with new features or fixes before they are available to all users, leave it enabled. Enabling test mode is not recommended in production environment, however.
     
  7. bornconfuzd

    bornconfuzd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Hi Marcos,

    Thank you for your response.

    Unfortunately it's not so straightforward. You say above, "if you merely want to keep the SP2 fix leave test mode disabled". But of course I have test mode enabled, THAT'S how we were told to set it in order to get the SP2 fix. Possibly you just mistyped.

    My interest is in having my Nod32 operating properly on my machine. If that requires having test mode enabled then I will leave it enabled. If what agoretsky was saying was that we could disable test mode and the fix would stay then I will disable test mode. If there is a new update available that will fix the problem but that requires a reinstall then I will reinstall.

    The SP2 problem that necessitated turning on the test module is on my main computer, so no, I don't want to be using beta modules on this machine, unless it's required temporarily to make Nod32 work.

    You also say above that "If I merely want to keep the SP2 fix", well, it's not "merely" to me. I only turned it on because that was the way to get Nod32 working again as spelled out in the Eset kb article! I turned it on in order to get Nod32 working! My main interest is in having an operating anti-virus!

    I would sincerely appreciate an in depth response to this question. Should we be leaving test mode enabled until a permanent fix is available, or is one available now? If one is available now does it require a reinstall of Nod32? Should we expect a permanent fix in the form of a download/update or will it come in the form of a new build?

    I'm not intending to be belligerent and I apologize if I'm being dense, (entirely possible :D ), but in fact I do not understand exactly what it is I'm supposed to be doing at this point.

    Thank you,

    Larry
     
  8. Kelon

    Kelon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Are there any issues with simply turning test mode off now that the SP2 fix has entered production? I enabled test mode when the fix was first being mentioned, and disabled it once the fix went live. Is there any reason for me to reinstall at this point, or should I just turn test mode off and go about my business?
     
  9. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,856
    Yes there are issues with turning Test Mode off because ESET don't provide the latest modules on the update servers, only packed in the install packages. If you want to disable test mode, turn it off then reinstall to get the latest modules, followed by hitting update.
     
  10. LeVzi

    LeVzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I went back to v3 until the problem was sorted, does this mean I can go back to v4 now ? Or should I wait ?

    Thanks.
     
  11. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,856
    Yes you can go back to the latest v4, then hit update to get the SP2 fixes, then reboot.
     
  12. bornconfuzd

    bornconfuzd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Hi All,

    Ok, relying on the response from funkydude, (thank you), I uninstalled and reinstalled V4. At first it refused to update citing "undocumented error".

    But, upon a reboot it automatically downloaded virus updates and the Anti-Stealth Support Module went to 1012 (20090526) as cited by agoretsky in an earlier post. So, unless someone corrects me, I believe I'm good to go.

    FWIW, I'm also running V4 EAV on my Dell Dimension E510. The problem never appeared on that computer and the updated Anti-Stealth Module downloaded automagically on that computer!

    Anyway, thanks to all who helped get us through this little drama!

    Larry

    P.S. I would still think it would be helpful for agoretsky or Marcos to post clear procedures for everybody, especially those of us who went to test mode.

    Editing to say that my Dell is running the same versions as this machine, V4.437 of EAV and Vista Ultimate 32 bit.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.