ESET NOD32 Antivirus v3.0.657 released

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Marcos, May 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Hello,

    ESET NOD32 Antivirus v3.0.657 has been released in Czech, Slovak and English. This release contains the following changes:
    · Fixed problem causing problems on certain servers on logoff

    · Improved stability for users of Microsoft Windows Mail

    · Fixed issue with deleting email from a POP3 server

    · Fixed incompatibility with PC Translator software


    Licensed users can download their registered versions here from the Download section of ESET's web site.

    Trial versions and versions in other languages will be available later.



    Regards,

    Marcos
     
  2. acooldozen

    acooldozen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    218
    Location:
    White Rock, BC, Canada
    Nothing listed under download or manual??
     

    Attached Files:

  3. acooldozen

    acooldozen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    218
    Location:
    White Rock, BC, Canada
    Sorry Marcos..tried the link at least 8-10 times previously. After posting I clicked again on your link and it worked fine. SAgain, My apologies!
     
  4. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    New York City
    Looks fine to me. Click on the link to download.
     
  5. Banger696

    Banger696 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    274
    Yay another one to test. :thumb:
     
  6. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    So if I'm not experiencing any issues should I change from 3.0.650?
     
  7. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    The following is fixed in 3.0.657 as well:

    - Fixed problem causing system instability on Microsoft Windows Server platform
    - Fixed issue with incorrect message statistics in Antispam module

    If you don't have any problems and the fixed bugs is not important to you then why be the first to upgrade. New versions could contain new bugs so if 3.0.650 is working fine then let other people find out if the new version is working ok before you do. "If it works don't fix it"....i guess that's the safest approach:)

    I been using 3.0.650 for a while now without any problems so didn't really have a good reason to upgrade, but i did it anyway since i figured going back to 3.0.650 is fast and easy. The upgrade worked fine without any issues at all and didn't even have to reboot. Even if i did the upgrade right away i still think the best thing to do is to wait for a while and not install a brand new version and be the first to find bugs (if any) as long as you have no good reason to upgrade.

    Regards
    Gan
     
  8. zer0l0gic

    zer0l0gic Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    52
    Hmm. Don't know if I need to get this new version. None of the fixes affect me.

    So I would be interested to hear if anyone finds any other undocumented fixes or improvements.

    :D
     
  9. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    I'll wait for mine to auto update.. might happen. Dont laugh !!! :D
     
  10. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Like my signature suggests, "If it ain't broke don't fix it". I finally got a version 3 that is a keeper in build .650 so I'm leaving well enough alone. None of the improvements in .657 apply to me anyway. :)
     
  11. gojj

    gojj Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Last edited: May 24, 2008
  12. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

  13. techie007

    techie007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I've installed it on about 50 computers, and so far 5 or 6 of them have started locking up every 15-20 min and hanging explorer on reboots (after a hard-off power cycle). These were all running .650 previously.

    We have to disable the Eset services to get them up and running stable.

    These were almost all in-place upgrades, done via Group Policy. So the next step will be to do a full uninstall, folder clean and reinstall of .657 on them to see if that fixes it, if not, back to .650 for everyone.

    These are all XP desktops, except one Vista. The servers, and couple dozen other desktops it has been installed on are running fine so far (knock on wood).
     
  14. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    It should suffice to update the clients (the Antivirus and antispyware scanner module should be at v. 1115 (20080522) and restart the computers. Alternatively cleaning the ThreatSense cache would help.
     
  15. edwin3333

    edwin3333 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Posts:
    244
    I've installed on a dozen PC's including mine and a server & so far it seems more stable. The new MSI doesn't seem to force a reboot after it upgrades from 2.7 like the old one did, so users are left w/out realtime until a reboot - though perhaps this is something I'm doing? 480 other PC's rebooted with the old 650 MSI though.

    Seems a little quicker. Nice that it doesn't require a reboot to go from 650 to 657.
     
  16. mps_surcouf

    mps_surcouf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Posts:
    33
    edwin3333

    are you saying that even if you select force reboot in the package editor it doesn't reboot.

    ie /qn REBOOT="Force"

    I have some 2.7 clients to update and your experience would be very useful.

    Thanks

    Mike
     
  17. edwin3333

    edwin3333 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Posts:
    244
    This appears to be an abnormal happening. Looks like it was only one of my PC's didn't reboot. One I was keeping an eye on in the RA. Infact, NOD32 3.0.650 doesn't show up in add remove programs and it warns that it is not protecting the PC. Though the GUI and ekrnl are running.

    I'm guessing this person rebooted midway through my install.

    Remote reinstall/removal fails via the RA. I had to login as admin and kill ekrn.exe and the tray icon then right click the MSI and INSTALL. Without doing that, it says the MSI is possibly corrupt (it isn't.)

    Anyway, doesn't seem to be the problem I thought initially.
     
  18. mrbrimi

    mrbrimi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Posts:
    44
    Am running v 657 on XP SP3 and experiencing same lockup problem with ekrnl running at 99%, cannot access computer without disabling EAV. So basically my computer is useless with real time protection running.

    I did a clean install removing all Eset folders and still have the problem.
     
  19. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    As far as I can see, .657 is a minor update, and for the grief it's causing I would revert back to .650 and forget .657.
     
  20. mrbrimi

    mrbrimi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Posts:
    44
    Appears that EAV 657 is doing a COMPLETE scan of ALL files on system startup with ekrn.exe hogging all the CPU time.

    Unfortunately I don't have a copy of 650 so can't revert.
     
  21. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I'm sure it's on the customer download page.
     
  22. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Download the trial version from ESET's web-site and install it . During installation , just enter your unique UN and PW and you'll have full version 3.0.650
     
  23. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Hmmm
    I deicded to update my 650 to 657, it not only reset the virus database back to 23/4/08 but now it refuses to update on it own. :rolleyes:
     
  24. mrbrimi

    mrbrimi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Posts:
    44
    Have reverted back to v3.0.650 using default settings and my problems have been "cured".

    Thanks HiTech_Boy for suggesting the trial version.
     
  25. Philippe_FR22

    Philippe_FR22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    I had same problem on one of my pc, upgrading from 642 to 650. Solution was to delete virus database cache and to launch a manual update. Afterwards, everything were OK
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.