ESET NOD32 Antivirus 5 and ESET Smart Security 5 Release Candidate available

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by Marcos, Jun 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Hello,
    We are pleased to announce the availability of ESET NOD32 Antivirus 5 and ESET Smart Security 5 Release Candidate.

    The new version mainly fixes issues reported during the beta testing:

    + control and management of FireWire removable media
    + details about user license are displayed
    + small UI improvements

    Fix: detection of MBR rootkits
    Fix: cleaning of infected files
    Fix: problems with uninstallation
    Fix: reverting settings to defaults
    Fix: filtering On-demand scan logs
    Fix: ESS blocking VPN on Windows XP
    Fix: Parental Control User account icons disappear
    Fix: Visual bug in Outlook 2007/2010 ESET ribbon if Antispam Address books are disabled
    Fix: Issues with Windows Live Mail 2011
    Fix: Multiple notifications displayed after scan
    Fix: SSL not working with Firefox and Opera after a computer restart
    Fix: problem creating scan logs after scanning removable media
    Fix: wrong display of HIPS pop-up windows in interactive mode
    Fix: Other minor fixes

    The installers can be downloaded from the following web page and installed over the previous version:
    http://www.eset.eu/download/release-candidate
     
  2. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Outer space
    Hi,

    Is the bug with failing Windows updates fixed?
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Yes, the fix will be distributed via an automatic module update for all v5 (beta / rc) users some time soon.
     
  4. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    Will give a try
     
  5. ashishsingh1508

    ashishsingh1508 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Pune
    Hi resizing of eset GUI size is still not solved.
    To experience this restart PC click start-->All Programs-->ESET-->ESET Nod32 Antivirus-->Eset nod32 Antivirus
    after clicking it will show only three buttons on the left hand side but this not the case when I double click on system case.

    Secondly,
    Just a suggestion...Can we have eset icon instead of writing on top left side? And "NOD32 Antivirus 5" could be more thinner and stylish.

    Regards
    Ashish Singh
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 14, 2011
  6. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    installed over 4.2, cloud was disabled I guess this was because of keep current settings. UI opened full screen on first run seems ok now. I think it looks much better.
    All good so far.
     
  7. ashishsingh1508

    ashishsingh1508 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Pune
    I mean we can have bottom icon on top left which can replace ESET written there.

    Also see there is no version number in the second notification
     

    Attached Files:

  8. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    in my case, is not necessary restarting or re sizing the gui, this happens when launching egui by other means than tray icon, including the first time in the moment that product activation appears

    regarding your suggestion, why you want two eset logos in the main window?
    Indeed this icon must be added in help file header and linked to web site in product activation and parental control
     
  9. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    619
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
  10. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    That's really quick, didn't expect a RC now.

    Any comments on how this RC affects the HIPS (especially in automatic mode)? Better whitelisting? More rules?
     
  11. ESS3

    ESS3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Posts:
    112
    Super!!! Super!!! Super!!! ESET Smart Security 5!!!
    love :-*
    ;) :)
     
  12. HealingStargate

    HealingStargate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    160
    Location:
    USA
    Upgraded perfectly here and all looks great as of now.
    Thank you ESET.
    KOR-
     
  13. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    @Mattis5nl
    In automatic mode, applications are allowed without annoying you when they are not blocked/asked in the rule set
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2011
  14. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    I know, but the interactive mode desperately needs proper whitelisting.

    I think I should rewrite my questions to make them more clear.

    1. how have the rules of the automatic mode evolved since the beta release?
    2. has the whitelist been improved for users in the interactive mode?
     
  15. tuntun

    tuntun Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Posts:
    39
    I got issue on product activation. When I click on it, eset crashed and close down. No more running under taskbar. Need to go to program and click it. Installed on Win7 Ultimate.
     
  16. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    Implementing rules based on image paths and not the contents or heuristic classification by default can produce too much false positives from HIPS or (Assuming that ESET plans for HIPS is detection), too much false negatives from HIPS

    i think this is for performance reasons
    hips functionality will evolve over time
     
  17. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    Just performed a clean installation of the release candidate.
    All very smooth as expected. After installation and the virus signature database have been completed I even saw HIPS in automatic mode notifying me about the fact that a modification to the startup items has been allowed. Namely, that I disabled Windows Defender. Also getting exactly the same message when I launch (and elevate with UAC) CCleaner, since CCleaner ofcourse has the option to modify startup items. I have never seen that message when launching CCleaner in the Beta, so there already have been more rules added to the HIPS.

    Two small interface imperfections.
    1. inconsistent typing of Parental control. Everywhere it is typed as 'Parental control'. But when selecting in the dropdown menu for Logs, it is typed as 'Parental Control'.
    2. when in 1366x768 and window in default size. In the Tools tab the on mouse over effect for Watch activity is inconsistent with the other tools. The effect is not full-width. Also "activity" could have easily been at the same line. See attachment.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 14, 2011
  18. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    8 out of 12 windows updates failed with hips on default here, isnt windows update whitelited??
     
  19. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    See Marcos previous post, ESET has created a fix for it, but it has not been pushed out yet. Which will happen soon.
    I can't comment on whether it failed to me, because I did the Windows Update before installing the release candidate.
     
  20. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    Ah! thanks for that.
     
  21. Mr_Grumpy

    Mr_Grumpy Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Posts:
    0
    Hello Wilders
    I have not been able to do a completely update from windows-update; whit RC 5.0.84.0 - database 6208.
    It is missing 8 updates. When I do the update whit Eset 4 version 4.2.71.12 everything is fine.
    Other than that everything seems to run smoothly for now.
    Best Regards:)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 14, 2011
  22. HealingStargate

    HealingStargate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    160
    Location:
    USA
    Wow, I had 14 Windows updates and it took a couple of hours to get them all installed.
    Well I did get everything as to the updates installed but many HIPS notices appearing.
    KOR-
     
  23. The PIT

    The PIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Posts:
    185
    Blocked half of windows updates so uninstalled until the bug is fixed.
     
  24. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    still no sb edition, right?
     
  25. Coccinelle

    Coccinelle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    France
    Can Eset Gui.exe use 2 or 3 Mo?
    Now use 7.
    Thank you
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.