ESET NOD32 Antivirus 5 and ESET Smart Security 5 beta available

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by Marcos, May 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    I can not subsribe to the Beta Newsletter and i can not send a Feedback Form cause both skripts are telling me that my e-Mail Addi is not correct.

    Form of the e-Mail Addi is: name@googlemail.com
     
  2. Relentless

    Relentless Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Will users of ESET Smart Security/Antivirus version 4 with an upto date license be able to update to version 5 when its fully released for free or will there be an extra charge?
     
  3. poston8

    poston8 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Marietta, Ga
    Hello,

    I can't find a site where I can dowload the beta Smart Security V 5 for Win 7 64 bit.
    Please help me.
    I just purchased Eset Smart Security V 4 for three computers for two years.

    Thanks.

    Bill Poston
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    ESET customers have always been able to update to newer versions of the product they purchased for free.
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    It's downloadable from http://www.eset.eu/download/beta:
     
  6. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    ESET guys: I LOVE you for the HIPS Feature!

    The advanced options are awesome! :thumb: :thumb:

    EDIT:

    Suggestion: In the HIPS PopUps it would be great to have link to google the parent process directly.

    Suggestion2: I think it would be helpful i the user can copy text from the PopUps. Or a "copy to clipboard" option... Something like that.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2011
  7. Mister Natural

    Mister Natural Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    3rd density St. Louis
    So this is the home user version which means it does not have the BE options such as communicating to ERAS? I was hoping to try it out on my work pc for testing.
     
  8. Somulo

    Somulo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    Any reason I should not be disabling HIPS? Sounds a lot like UAC, ThreatSense.net and the like. Can I really trust this program to judge what is "unwanted" behavior? I mean, doesn't that real-time antivirus portion already cover that?

    I just want antivirus. I already have disabled the web access scanning, is HIPS just another intrusive feature?
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    As of v5, the enterprise version will be a completely different product. A beta will be available later.
     
  10. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    815
    Location:
    India
    Could you please post some screenshots of HIPS options and alerts (if possible)

    Thanks,
    Harsha
     
  11. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    To ESET and all Moderators: BRAVO ZULU ON VERSION 5! :thumb:

    Note: BravoZulu is Navy speak for "WELL DONE"
     
  12. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    The HIPS & Firewall failed the PCFlank Leaktest. I think that could be better... ;)

    I will post some screens soon... have to go for lunch now.
     
  13. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    @Marcos
    I am on sbe antivirus 4 - can I update to home 5? Just on top?
     
  14. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    You can install the beta on any non-server OS. Installation on top of an older version is supported.
     
  15. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    I decided to reinstall ESS Beta to just use the regular update channel again, so I could find out what the uninstaller is like.

    I uninstalled ESS Beta and rebooted into Safe Mode, in there I used the ESETUninstaller.exe and that detected both ESS/EAV/EMXS and NODv2 leftovers, I uninstalled both instances.
    Then I rebooted to see what leftovers were left after this procedure.

    I found the following on Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1:

    - AppData/Local and AppData/Roaming, in both folders an empty ESET folder
    - HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/SOFTWARE/ESET and HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/SOFTWARE/SysWOW64/ESET both folders don't contain registry items
    - in Device Manager (enabling the view hidden devices), two not totally removed (so they were grayed out) drivers: eamonm (this one probably causes that the ESETUninstaller finds leftovers of NODv2, since with a fully functional ESS Beta that one doesn't show up in Device Manager) and Epfw NDIS LightWeight Filter

    Those three items won't cause compatibility issues if you decide to use another security product, and for a Beta the uninstaller ain't bad, but it would ofcourse be nice if the final would atleast fully remove those two leftover drivers.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 5, 2011
  16. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    Hm, i can not disable the file-system shield completely.

    If i disable it and try to execute eicar.exe or trojansimulator.exe ESET blocks it anyway...
    I think this could be by design but i think it should be possible to disable the on-execution guard as well.
     
  17. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    The current version of the Uninstall tool does not support v5 yet.
     
  18. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    I thought so yes, but I just wanted to try it out and it did actually remove some things.

    Some questions:

    1. Why did I receive upon activating with my ESS license two mails to thank me for purchasing ESS :D.

    2. Is it fully compatible with Windows Live Mail 2011, since I don't see ESET anywhere in Live Mail 2011?
    EDIT: I see that when right-clicking on an email there is an ESET Smart Security context menu with options for reclassifying as/as NOTspam, add to back/white list and rescan message.

    3. I see people who don't want to use parental controls can uncheck Integrate into system in the advanced setup tree, how about giving this option in the installer (advanced installer mode for example)?

    Nice job on the interface changes, it makes it even more friendly and easy to use, thanks to the refreshed UI, improved advanced setup tree, refreshed notifications.
    Next to that it seems really stable to me at first sight, it doesn't have a noticable impact on my system. For the RAM usage lovers (on Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1): egui.exe 6.488 kB, ekrn.exe *32 67.236 kB. However it ain't installed long enough to give CPU / disk measurements.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 5, 2011
  19. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    815
    Location:
    India
    does it have suspicious file monitoring (behavior shield)?. I thought it had during CEBIT launch season.

    Thanks,
    Harsha
     
  20. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Yes it has.

     
  21. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    can anyone post screenshots of the HIPS alerts? thanks
     
  22. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    5,875
    Location:
    New York City
    How's this:
     

    Attached Files:

    • HIPS.GIF
      HIPS.GIF
      File size:
      13.7 KB
      Views:
      1,471
  23. nodyforever

    nodyforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    PT / Lisbon

    View image:
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    5,875
    Location:
    New York City
    It would be extremely useful for the HIPS to notify if a new executable currently not on computer is attempting to run or copy to disk.
     
  25. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    i cant see that
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.