ESET no longer starting up automatically.

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by MrGump, Nov 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MrGump

    MrGump Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Posts:
    406
    I noticed today, that each time i boot my OS, ESET will not start on it's own. I have checked my startup programs in "msconfig" and everything seems right.

    Any help? Thank you.
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,408
    Are you able to start GUI through the Start menu or you're getting an error that communication with ekrn failed?
     
  3. MrGump

    MrGump Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Posts:
    406
    i am able to start it through the start menu.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,408
    Could you check in the Task manager if egui.exe is running when the problem occurs?
     
  5. siljaline

    siljaline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  6. MrGump

    MrGump Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Posts:
    406

    it is not running when the problem occurs. When I boot my system, no ESET porceses of any type startup by themselves. Only after i open the program in the start menu does it work.
     
  7. MrGump

    MrGump Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Posts:
    406
    I performed a reinstall of ESET NOD32 64bit and the problem is still NOT solved. NOD32 is a startup program but it does not load by itself and no ESET processes are present at boot up. HELP!
     
  8. MrGump

    MrGump Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Posts:
    406
    Hellloooooo? :mad:
     
  9. e36

    e36 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Posts:
    80
  10. MrGump

    MrGump Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Posts:
    406

    When I did start NOD32 manually, all scans came up clean. I also scanned with Malwarebytes and Spybot S&D, all scans came up clean. I have now uninstalled NOD32 and installed Avira. All Avira scans came up clean. I think my system is clean.

    I would like to install NOD32 again, but I already did that and it would not start up by itself.
     
  11. e36

    e36 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    Try booting into the Safe Mode once, then restart with a normal boot.
     
  12. MrGump

    MrGump Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Posts:
    406
    That did not work.

    I installed ESET Smart Security and the porgram boots when I start my OS. ESET NOD 32 still does not boot when I start my OS.


    It would be nice to hear something from ESET support. :oops:
     
  13. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,408
    Maybe a behavior blocker security software preventing egui.exe from being registered in the run key? Just a hunch, hard to tell without seeing a list of applications you have installed. I'd suggest contacting customer care and providing them a SysInspector log from your computer.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.