ESET Kb User name and password

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by marty9876, Apr 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. marty9876

    marty9876 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    I feel so silly asking this, where does one obtain a user name for the ESET KB articles? I contacted support and they gave me the following link: http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOL2144

    Says: Article Not Found; Try Logging In
    The article was not found, or is no longer available. Internal Users/Partners: You may need to login.

    My ESET user name and password does not work and I can't seem to find where to register.

    Thanks,
    Marty
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    maybe indeed was taken off because no longer relevant or needs amending or....
    What was it meant to deal with?
     
  3. marty9876

    marty9876 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    ekrn.exe is running @ ~ 100% for first 3-4 minutes on user logins. Looking for a way to not have the AV run a scan when users first log in, or a way of throttling the scanning down. On v3, switched to smart scan no change.

    Problem is these are demonstration machines in conference rooms and the AV is really bogging them down.

    Also, on our SBS 2k3 server which is also hosting the ESET server the disk I/O for ESET is really high. Highest using app for disk I/O on that box by far.
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  5. marty9876

    marty9876 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    Are these settings possible to deploy from the server configuration? ESET Configuration Editor
     
  6. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  7. marty9876

    marty9876 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    Yes, but on the server that is listed as empty but on the clients there are scheduled scans for regular auto update, auto startup file check user logon, auto startup sucessful update
     
  8. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It is possible to do since startup scans always have the same ID (3 for login, 4 for after update).

    Its much easier to configure a client first though. Make configuration changes on the client, export the configuration and use that as a template.
     
  9. marty9876

    marty9876 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    If you edit and pull a client xml will that still contain the other features such as no splash screen set on the server configuration editor?
     
  10. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes if you already have a good working configuration pull that one from a client, edit the scheduler tasks (the start-up scans should then be visible) and put it in either your default policy or push them down to all the clients.
     
  11. marty9876

    marty9876 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    do you know where offhand the .xml is located on the client?

    Thanks for all the help!
     
  12. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You need to export it from the client using the (advanced) GUI. In the top menu you can then choose for setup --> import/export.

    You can also download a clients configurations from the ERA console - double click a client --> go to configuration tab --> and download the configuration using save as.
     
  13. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello marty9876,

    The correct link for the solution they were recommending is:
    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN2144

    The link was somehow corrupted when sending it. If you receive links like that from the support team, you can go to the ESET Knowledgebase and search for the SOLN# at the end of the address they sent. In this case it would be SOLN2144. Performing that search will take you directly to the article.

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.