ESET is "useless" if this is not solved !?!?!?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by xfadio, Nov 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xfadio

xfadio Registered Member

Dear all,
    changing from antivirus to another is really annoying.
    I have used almost all of them.
    now if ESET doesn't have a solution to this
    then its time to search for a better antivirus

The problem is the following:

I have many Saved internet explorer webs in my computer (url & html)
    and I have been saving them since year 2000 ..
    suddenly, ESET detected " HTML Iframe.B.Gen" Virus in them
    and the solution is to "delete" them, no "clean" option is available
    I attached a photo of the problem ..
    I have submitted the file with the problem to ESET, but nothing have changed..

I hope you can help
    I'll be grateful

Regards to everyone

Attached Files:

2. Marcos

Marcos Eset Staff Account

Most likely the hmtl file contains an Iframe malware, ie. a reference to a site containing malware. If this is the case, you can edit the html file with real-time protection enabled and remove the reference(s) to the malicious site.

3. SmackyTheFrog

SmackyTheFrog Registered Member

Would it be technically possible for the scanning engine to sanitize HTML, either over HTTP or the file system, by stripping out frames to malicious locations and continue to render the portions that are not malicious? The rise of 3rd party advertising partners hosting malicious content seems to be creating odd situations where completely valid websites are rendered inaccessible due to issues like this.

4. Cudni

Cudni Global Moderator

or exclude the location(s) where you archived those pages from scanning assuming you are convinced they are not malicious

5. agoretsky

agoretsky Eset Staff Account

Hello,

It may be possible to perform this activity with a realtime block list (RBL) and a content rewriting proxy or tool (GreaseMonkey and Privoxy come to mind).