ESET Interaction with AD

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by BRACdude, Feb 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BRACdude

    BRACdude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    16
    Hi,

    I'm currently trialing ESET Smart Suite Business Edition and just wondered if anyone else is slightly dissapointed with the lack of AD intergration? i know you can sync Groups with AD but even this is not what i expected from a Business Edition product if i am honest.

    To explain further i was rather hoping i could assign a installation policy directly to OU's in AD to ensure anyone who put's a client into our Active Directory ESET would automatically distribute and install the custom package i've created and ensure the client is immediately protected if you catch my drift.

    Other than finding machines not in the ERA database the only thing i can see that comes close in the ERA console is deploy via Logon Scripts which is ok i guess but not what i was expecting in terms of ensuring you catch all clients who are on your corporate network as not all clients will necessarily run a logon script.
    I know i can use other products like SMS etc to accomplish this but to me i would have thought this is quite fundemental in large businesses where you have various staff adding clients onto the network etc

    I will say I am highly impressed with ESET's many other features overall compared to the product we currently use i just wish it would talk to Ad more, am i missing something very obvious or is this something worth introducing into future releases as other competitors offer this functionality?

    The other question i have that i have not tested yet that could get around this problem is can you install Smart Security Suite onto a 'Base' image for deployment to multiple computers? ERA keeps a count of the licenses so i don't see why it wouldn't work but without testing further to see if the program generates & uses any unique identifiers per install, per machine i'm unsure and thought plenty of folks may have already done this?

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2009
  2. PRJUS

    PRJUS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Posts:
    95
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hi!

    To answer your first question: You can install ESET through a Group Policy.

    Create your configuration using the ESET Configuration Editor and save the configuration as cfg.xml (important) in the same folder as the MSI-file for your ESET product.

    Then you can create your software installation policy in Group Policy Management Console or whatever you use to create policies in Active Directory.


    The MSI-file will automatically pick up the configuration file if it is named cfg.xml and placed together with the MSI-file.

    I haven't tried including ESET in an image but I don't see why not.
     
  3. BRACdude

    BRACdude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    16
    Thanks for the response and something I will consider, the thing i'm wary of using GP to deploy the software is will it continually try to install over the top of the existing installation? anyone else tried using ESET on a base image and then deploy to various machines?
     
  4. PRJUS

    PRJUS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Posts:
    95
    Location:
    Denmark
    It won't install over and over again if the installation is completed successfully.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.