ESET Gui dies at startup ?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by luke55, Jul 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. luke55

    luke55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Hello,

    I just built a new PC with Win XP SP3, and installed ESET 4.0.437 trial version downloaded from ESET site.
    Initially, it worked fine, but now, when windows starts, I can see the splash screen, as usual, but then the icon does not appear in the system tray.
    In task manager, I can see is the ekrn.exe.
    If I restart it manually, it works and I have the icon in the system tray.

    I do not have ANY other antivirus of any kind installed.

    Any help appreciated,
    Thanks
     
  2. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Is egui.exe checked in startup under msconfig?

    philby
     
  3. luke55

    luke55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Otherwise, would I see the splash screen ?
    In any case, as I said, it worked initially, and I do not remember having used msconfig since.
    But I will double-check this evening when I am back at home.

    Are you aware of any kind of logfile (either ESET or XP) I could look at to have more information?
     
  4. luke55

    luke55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I found two other similar threads , 214741 and 213536 but no solution
     
  5. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    For me, running a repair install and rebooting always permanently fixed the issue (run the installer again and select repair).

    Otherwise, take a look here.

    Not sure about logs, maybe someone else?

    HTH

    philby
     
  6. luke55

    luke55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    The repair install did not help, I will try the uninstall and reinstall later.
    BTW, does someone know if the ESET gui relies on some XP service to start successfully?
    It could be that I de-activated some of them since I installed ESET.
    But if this is the case, I should not be able to start it manually right ?
     
  7. Nerimash

    Nerimash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Ukraine
    I think not. ESET AV products are independent part of operation system(i.e using standart system services). What version of ESET product are you using? I know that some sort of malware can prevent ESET 3.0 products to start, you should scan your PC with other AV utilities or ESET SysRescue as an variant.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.