ESET Gui dies at startup ?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by luke55, Jul 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. luke55

    luke55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Hello,

    I just built a new PC with Win XP SP3, and installed ESET 4.0.437 trial version downloaded from ESET site.
    Initially, it worked fine, but now, when windows starts, I can see the splash screen, as usual, but then the icon does not appear in the system tray.
    In task manager, I can see is the ekrn.exe.
    If I restart it manually, it works and I have the icon in the system tray.

    I do not have ANY other antivirus of any kind installed.

    Any help appreciated,
    Thanks
     
  2. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Is egui.exe checked in startup under msconfig?

    philby
     
  3. luke55

    luke55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Otherwise, would I see the splash screen ?
    In any case, as I said, it worked initially, and I do not remember having used msconfig since.
    But I will double-check this evening when I am back at home.

    Are you aware of any kind of logfile (either ESET or XP) I could look at to have more information?
     
  4. luke55

    luke55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I found two other similar threads , 214741 and 213536 but no solution
     
  5. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    For me, running a repair install and rebooting always permanently fixed the issue (run the installer again and select repair).

    Otherwise, take a look here.

    Not sure about logs, maybe someone else?

    HTH

    philby
     
  6. luke55

    luke55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    The repair install did not help, I will try the uninstall and reinstall later.
    BTW, does someone know if the ESET gui relies on some XP service to start successfully?
    It could be that I de-activated some of them since I installed ESET.
    But if this is the case, I should not be able to start it manually right ?
     
  7. Nerimash

    Nerimash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Ukraine
    I think not. ESET AV products are independent part of operation system(i.e using standart system services). What version of ESET product are you using? I know that some sort of malware can prevent ESET 3.0 products to start, you should scan your PC with other AV utilities or ESET SysRescue as an variant.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.