Eset Firewall triggers UAC alerts for all outbound internet request

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Cutting_Edgetech, Jan 7, 2016.

  1. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,950
    Location:
    USA
    I tried making this post at Eset's support forum, but it says service is unavailable right now. I will probably get an answer here much faster anyway. Has anyone experienced the following problem below in the past? I rarely used UAC in the past, and I just started using Eset Firewall last year so I was not aware of this problem until now.

    eeclnt.exe (belongs to Eset Smart Security) causes UAC to prompt me every time an application request outbound internet access that does not have a firewall rule. It is causing application errors, and internet access failure for my applications even if I choose allow from the UAC prompt. I tried making eeclnt.exe run as an administrator under compatibility mode, but that did not work. How do I keep Eset Firewall from triggering UAC every time an application request internet access? I'm using Eset Smart Security 8.0.319.0 on Windows 7X64 Ultimate, and i'm using the firewall in interactive mode.

    thank you,

    cutting_edgetech
     
  2. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,067
    Try disabling Require full administrator rights for limited administrator accounts (Advance setup - User interface - Access setup).
     
  3. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,950
    Location:
    USA
    Thank you! That worked. What a pain it was dealing with that. Eset should have that disabled by default.
     
  4. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,067
    You're welcome. Yes it can be real PITA when configuring software.
     
  5. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I am running ver. 8.0.0.319 on WIN 7. I have that option set on and run UAC at highest level. I have outbound firewall monitoring enabled. I have never experienced the behavior Cutting_Edgetech describes.
     
  6. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,067
    IDK, I was using EAV and was always notified when I was making changes to AV settings. Don't know about firewall settings though. But if it solves the problem...
     
  7. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Yes, and in my opinion, you want that setting set on to prevent unauthorized changes to your security settings. Sounds to me like something is misconfigured in the firewall or it's corrupted.

    A Eset goodie I recently noted is when you do a system restore, the Win 7 firewall gets hosed and ends up being set off. Also when this happens, you get no alert from the Security Center. Fix is to set it back to default settings and then reboot. Then it is reset automatically to "Eset is managing your firewall settings."
     
  8. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Cutting_Edgetech, are you sure the alerts you are receiving are for outbound firewall connections and not from the "Application Modification" feature? AM will alert you when any program change, usually caused by an app update, occurs for which a previously defined firewall rule exists. Again, I have never received any UAC alert when this happens simply because the program update within the system has already previously taken place. Also as I posted above, make sure your WIN 7 firewall is properly configured.

    I saw Marco's response to your like posting in the Eset forum which is the same as Minimalist gave. I believe that this might be more to do with your existing UAC level. You never mentioned what that is. Again I have mine set to the max. level and never have had a conflict with anything Eset firewall related.

    Also if you are using any anti-exec software, there might be a conflict with that and Eset firewall operation?
     
  9. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,950
    Location:
    USA
    This is a new installation of Windows 7X64 Ultimate, and the problem occurred as soon as I switched the FW to interactive filtering.
     
  10. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,950
    Location:
    USA
    Maybe, but I just installed ESS. I'm not sure how the installation become corrupted so fast. I rolled my machine back a second time, and installed ESS again. I ran into the same problem.
     
  11. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I re-read your original posting. I believe what you are getting is an Eset confirmation prompt whenever your create a new firewall for an outbound connection. Is that what's happening? A screen shot of the activity would help a lot.
     
Loading...