Eset Firewall and Windows 7 build 7100

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by athiwatc, Apr 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. athiwatc

    athiwatc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Some how it just does not work, but it work perfectly on 7000.
    Tried to install in 7000 and upgrade, Fail.
    Fresh install of windows 7 build 7100 and install eset, Fail also.
    Some how to antivirus works just fine.
     
  2. psychokilla

    psychokilla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Posts:
    171
    http://i39.tinypic.com/27wu9n5.jpg

    As you can see from the above, it works just fine in 7100, that's on my 32bit copy on my laptop (which is not the fastest computer in the world, 1.6GHz processor and 2GB of memory), it also works perfectly fine on my 64bit copy on my main PC, the NOD32 works fine on my Home Server too (after some other problems).

    If your install isn't working then provide some info, "it doesn't work" isn't going to tell anyone anything to allow them to help you.
     
  3. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    Same here, been using it on every build of Win7 32 bits almost without issues.
    Anyway, you still have to remember that win7 is not finished so some sort of problem could occur...
     
  4. athiwatc

    athiwatc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Got it to work, its some source of StarForce driver problems? Uninstalling completely and install again fixes it!
    Thanks.
     
  5. screenname

    screenname Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Eset firewall prevents Win7 from detecting computers on my network (192.168.1.xx). If I disable firewall, all computers are detected right away and I can re-enable the firewall again. Another way is enter one of the computer's ip address at windows explorer (e.g. \\192.168.1.10) and rest of the computers will be detected within 10 seconds.
    Other then the detection issue, there is no problem accessing any of the computer on my network.

    My work around at this time is to map one of the drive to my PC. If there is a mapped drive, Win7 is able to detect all my computers on the network at start up.
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2009
  6. bseos

    bseos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    I have experienced the same issue time and time again, i have been using eset smart security v4 since the first public beta of WIndows 7 and esets firewall seems to be causing issues with the networked compouters, where it blocks all access to and from the machine, sometimes entering the computers ip directly into windows explorer fixes it, but other times i must turn the firewall off on both machines. :(

    Rather annoying, so i might try the technical preview of Kaspersky Anti-Virus specifically being developed for Windows 7.

    I hope eset get these issues ironed out, WIn 7 has been officially declared as RTM, so its only a matter of days now until OEM's get their hands on it..
     
  7. Jenee

    Jenee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    185
    This is not an ESS issue. There are hundreds of Win7 users in the Win7 forum who are experiencing network and internet problems with Win7. Not sure what the fix will be but don't blame Eset.
     
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    agree:thumb:
     
  9. The Nodder

    The Nodder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    UK
    At this moment I'm running W7 x64 RC 7100.

    I ran NOD32 AV since I got the 7100, however, only last week I completely uninstalled NOD32 AV and installed the ESS, I have no problems with it, none at all.
     
  10. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Sorry, bullcrap.

    I have a single shared folder on my system. Two systems on the network, both using Windows 7. Shared folder is ALWAYS accessible without the firewall enabled on ESS and was always accessible before I installed ESS.

    Now, with ESS installed and firewall enabled, ESS decides when and if I can get access to the shared folder on the LAN. Some days I can, other days I can't. I've tried interactive mode, I've tried learning mode, I've tried pretty much everything. Some days I can...other days I can't.

    The very second I uninstall ESS or turn off the firewall, bam, I'm in no problem.

    It IS an ESS issue.
     
  11. bseos

    bseos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    Yes i completley agree!

    @Jenee
    Did you not read what i posted?! My networking problems were gone as soon as i disabled eset's firewall, and the very fact that Eset havnt put Windows 7 on their compatibility list (for what ever reason, being a RC release or what not..) suggests otherwise..
     
  12. Jenee

    Jenee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    185
    You must be the only person in the world who does not have Win7 network issues. Perhaps you should let Microsoft know what the fix is. I had exactly the same network issues without ESS installed.
     
  13. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I'm running build 7232 on two systems and have no networking issues at all in Windows 7, other than when the ESS firewall is enabled.
     
  14. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,798
    Location:
    Texas
    Try SysInspector and see if anomalies are found. It's included in ESET Smart Security.
    http://www.eset.com/download/sysinspector.php
     
  15. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Really disappointed in ESET support as the best they could offer with my firewall issue is:

    ~Private email removed per the TOS~

    Pretty easy out for them. No interest in trying to fix the problem for the millions of Windows 7 users they will have in a couple of months? :blink:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 27, 2009
  16. Jenee

    Jenee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    185
    You should stop trying to blame Eset. I have been able to fix my Win7 network and internet dropouts by updating my network adapter driver with a new Win7 driver just released by Realtek. Again, it had nothing to do with ESS.
     
  17. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    You might want to try and read my post above. It IS an ESET problem.

    And how was that a private email that was removed from the other post? It was ESET saing they don't support Windows 7 and ending the support session there, with no attempt whatsoever in trying to fix it. By the way, ESET saw that it was an ESET problem as well.
     
  18. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    At the end of the day, ESET Smart Security (firewall) does not work as expected on Windows 7.

    I realize that Windows 7 is still in beta (according to ESET tech staff), even though the RTM and OEM versions have been shipped, but shared folders do not work.

    I have since uninstalled ESET Smart Security and installed just Nod32 (even though I paid for the whole Smart Security package) and Comodo Firewall. Comodo Firewall works without issue in Windows 7.
     
  19. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    You are right, and Homegroup does not work either with ESS. I know because it has been a problem for ESS and Windows 7 since the first official beta from Microsoft.
    Still, windows 7 is not the only program that does not work with ESS... but that's another story.
     
  20. Shaq

    Shaq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I too was having issues with ESS on build 7100 in not being able to reliably share out my folders. I eventually got it to work by modifying some of the settings. You can give the following a try to see if they work for you. For some, these settings may not be permanent depending on how exposed your PC is to the internet. But if you want to give it a shot, please feel free:

    1) Disable TCP Port Scanning and blocking
    - Go into Advanced Setup and go into the "IDS and advanced options" and uncheck "TCP Port Scanning attack detection" and "Block unsafe address after attack detection"
    - The reason why I did this was because connecting to the share was inconsistent (sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn't).
    - When it didn't work, I wasn't able to ping the connecting machine from my Win7 box but could ping others. I would check the ESET logs and it would indicate that a port scanning attack was detected from the originating machines
    - By the way, all my machines are in the same 192.168.1.0/24 network
    - This cleared up *some* problems, but not all of them

    2) Enable incoming and outgoing NetBIOS requests
    - Go into the firewall rule/zones editor and click on 'toggle detailed view of all rules'
    - By default "Block incoming NETBIOS requests" and "Block outgoing NETBIOS requests" was enabled. So, I unchecked those. For good measure, I also unchecked the blocks for SSDP and ICSLAP but I'm pretty sure that has nothing to do with the probs I was having.

    After I did this, my network shares seem to work more reliably.

    However!!! ;)

    There were times when I couldn't connect to the share no matter what setting I tried. The only way I could get connectivity to the share was to reboot the Win7 machine. After that, all was OK. But being intrigued as to why this was happening, I waited until I wasn't able to connect to the share, and ran a WireShark trace on the Win7 x64 machine. Turns out I can see the netbios requests going from my requesting machine (Xbox1 running XBMC) but the netbios response that goes back to that machine contained the dreaded words "out of memory error". So it appears that somewhere in the netbios implementation of Win7 x64, there is a memory leak. Rebooting clears this up. This happens anywhere from once a day to 3 or 4 times a week.

    Anyway, I hope the above post helps someone.

    Keep in mind that each problem may be different, and the problems you are all reporting may not be the same issue (maybe same result/symptom, but different cause).

    Shaq
     
  21. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Does increasing IRQ_STACK_SIZE in registry solve the out of memory problem?
     
  22. Shaq

    Shaq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Not sure as I haven't tried it. I'm still trying to find the conditions that cause this problem. So far no luck. I'll keep this in mind the next time it happens.

    Thanks for the tip.

    -=Shaq=-
     
  23. The Nodder

    The Nodder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    UK
    Here is what I learned to do when upgrading ESET or installing a different program, for example changing from EAV to ESS.

    Uninstall the ESET program in the normal way.
    Then, go through the C: Folders and you will find left overs of the uninstalled program, simply delete the folder and the files in them will be deleted.

    A lot depends on where you installed the ESET program and in whatever OS you installed it into.

    You may find a folder in :-
    X64 Program Files (x86)
    x32 Program Files

    Both in Program Data

    In Users in both, search all the entries in Users, you could very well get something in there, I do.

    Doing that has allowed me not to have any problems with any ESET programs.
     
  24. ashimaz

    ashimaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Problem with this issue is ESET Firewall is not recognizing HomeGroup ports properly in Interavtive or Automatic mode.
    To overcome try adding the HomeGroup ports manually, and you will be able to browse network without any problem.

    TCP 3587
    UDP 3540

    Hope this help.
     
  25. michael83815

    michael83815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    According to MS these are the ports needed by Homegroups

    Network Discovery UDP 5355, UDP 138, UDP 137, UDP 3702, UDP 1900, TCP 2869, TCP 5357, TCP 5358, UDP 3702

    HomeGroup TCP 3587, UDP 3540
    Core Networking All – see tables below

    SMB1
    TCP 445, TCP 139, UDP 138, UDP 137

    WMP TCP 10243, TCP 2177, UDP 2177, UDP 1900, TCP 2869

    Media Center Extender2

    TCP 10244, TCP 2177, UDP 2177, TCP 3390, TCP 554, TCP 8554,TCP 8555, TCP 8556, TCP 8557, TCP 8558, UDP 1900, UDP
    7777, UDP 7778, UDP 7779, UDP 7780, UDP 7781, UDP 5004, UDP 5005, UDP 50004, UDP 50005, UDP 50006, UDP
    50007, UDP 50008, UDP 50009, UDP 50010, UDP 50011, UDP 50012, UDP 50013
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.