ESET Configuration Editor > Scheduled Tasks

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by JoeyJoeJoe, May 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JoeyJoeJoe

    JoeyJoeJoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Posts:
    63
    Can someone explain the difference, in Configuration Editor > Scheduled Tasks, between 'Mark for deletion', 'Remove from list' and simply unchecking a task?

    If I remove a task from the list, I assume I'll never be able to delete it?

    Under what circumstances would you want to remove a task from the list? Does removing a task remove it from the Scheduled Tasks dialog? the ESET client? Both?

    See attached

    The checking/unchecking of a task seems simple enough. I assume it just enables/disables the task for the client.

    Thanks,
    JJJ
     

    Attached Files:

  2. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    619
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    The functionality of the buttons in the dialog window are as follows:
    • Add... – Adds new tasks
    • Edit – Modifies selected tasks
    • Change ID – Modifies ID of selected tasks
    • Details – Summary information about the selected task
    • Mark for deletion – Application of .xml file will remove tasks selected by clicking this button from target clients
    • Remove from list – Deletes selected tasks from the list. Please note that tasks removed from the list in the .xml
    configuration will not be removed from target workstations.

    For more info refer to the manual.
     
  3. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Correct. And the post above should explain the rest.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.