Eset.com blocked

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by ccss, Jun 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ccss

    ccss Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I am unable to update eset SS.
    The problem appears to be the there is software running on my computer that is blocking the eset.com site as well as http://www.eset.eu/support/knowledge.

    When I ping eset.com on this computer I get invalid site. But not on other computers using the same router so I know that it is only on this computer.

    I dont think it is browser related.

    Can anyone recommend software that I can test to find out:

    1 If there is any firewalls that I am not aware of running in the background.
    2 Tracing software that will detect what is blocking a url.
    3. Any other advice would be most welcolme

    Regards
    Brian
     
  2. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Hello,

    Welcome to Wilders! Often malware blocks antivirus websites. Did you try running a virus scan with ESET NOD32 Antivirus? If it doesn't show anything, or if it's too out of date, maybe try another free anti-malware application like MalwareBytes and SUPERAntiSpyware.

    Were you visiting any strange sites and downloading any files at all since eset.com was blocked?

    Regards,

    Mark.
     
  3. ccss

    ccss Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I did have malware on my computer but cleaned it with MalwareBytes and SuperAntiSpyware.

    It is scanning clean.

    I uninstall and the reinstalled Eset.

    I have run Hijackthis: log attached.

    ~Log removed. See the Policy.~

    I am at a loss to know how to track down what is causing the problem.
    I would have thought that a 'Anti Virus' program would be able to do some self diagnostics.

    I know there is a logical reason for the blocking but I cannot trace it.

    Any other suggestions before I remove it from my computer as it would appear that it is not able to function.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 7, 2009
  4. dannyboy

    dannyboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    UK
    check your hosts file

    it's in c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc

    open it in notepad. It'll look something like below. Look for a line referencing Eset and delete if present.


    # Copyright (c) 1993-2006 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    127.0.0.1 localhost
    ::1 localhost
     
  5. ccss

    ccss Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Hi Thanks.
    I had just found that as well and had repaired it.

    Just about every antivirus site was included in the list.

    Removed them all and now its working fine.

    Thanks for your help

    :argh:
     
  6. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.