Eset 4 won't even install on clean Windows7 x64

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Templar, Nov 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Templar

    Templar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    114
    Hi..

    Topic says it all.

    Did a clean install of W7 x64.
    Installed a few applications and then went along to install Eset 4 (467). When it reaches the "driver" part it cancels the install and reports that no changes have been made to the computer.

    Thanks.

    Simon
     
  2. LvR

    LvR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    W7 x64 (OEM + activated) is quite happy to run 467 here on a X58 i920 system .................

    Can you furnish more specific details?

    What exact version of W7? ............. beta, RC or actual licensed version?
    Home,Pro,Ultimate?
    System specs?
    Other AV products?
     
  3. Templar

    Templar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    114
    Thanks for the Post LvR.

    Windows 7 x64 Ultimate, licensed and activated.
    Computer model, Laptop HP 8530w.
    Intel T9600 CPU
    4GB Ram.
    320GB HD WD Scorpio Black.
    Can't remember the mobo chipsett but it's your regular Intel platform.
    Only intel NICs as well.

    Installer starts and when it reports that it's installing "Drivers" it breaks the installation and reports that "no changes have been made to the computer".

    Seems to be there are many issues still with Win7 and Eset, I really like Eset and I would like to continue to use it.

    Thanks again.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Please create an install log per the instructions here. I'll PM you the email address where to submit the log.
     
  5. Templar

    Templar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    114
    Hi.

    Sure I'll do that this weekend..

    Thanks.
     
  6. Templar

    Templar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    114
    SOLVED Re: Eset 4 won't even install on clean Windows7 x64

    Hello Marcos, everyone

    The problem is solved and it didn't have so much to do with ESET I believe, well partially of course, but the fault was with Virtuabox from SUN. It would prevent any third party firwall install, comodo, Outpost Pro, Kaspersky Security Suite and of course my favorite clean & mean Eset.
    Regular Antivirus like NOD32 would install however.

    Uninstalling Virtuabox solved the problem and a reinstall of Virtuabox after installing ESS 4 works. However a bridge network adapter mode in Virtualbox is unavailable.
    It turned out that Windows 7 had reached Max "services" installed as I had VirtualPC from microsoft installed as well and it's own bridged service adapter. Thus Eset or any other Firewall coulnd't install it's NIC Service driver, now Vbox is working great and so is Eset.

    Thanks for the support Marcos.

    Simon
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.