ESET 4.2 - Is is absolutely necessary for everybody to upgrade?

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by newbie2247, May 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. newbie2247

newbie2247 Registered Member

I am a Vista Premium Home User. I do not have Windows 7 and don't plan to unless it comes with my next PC in the future.

I looked into the 4.2 change log and since I'm no techie and don't understand the importance of these things I didn't see a whole lot of changes. Maybe about 6 or 7 of them - all Greek to me. I did notice Windows 7 mentioned there and in various other places that referred to the upgrade. So, what I am concerned about is since I don't have Windows 7 is upgrading to version 4.2 essential for me to do?

Currently I am using version 4.0.24.0 which I upgraded to in May 2009 and maybe I do need the upgrade. Who know? I certainly don't. Since they're free for us, most of us in the know get them after the beta testing is done. Since ESET never bothers to notify their customers (which I find absolutely reprehensible - especially when you consider how much we pay for their products - double OUCH!!!) about these upgrades via email notification, I only learned about it by pure accident. Nice, eh?

The reason I need to know whether or not I need to upgrade or I MUST upgrade (even thought I don't have Windows 7) is this:

Ever since I've been using ESET Smart Security - many years now - upgrades have been a real thorn in my side. I have never gone through one without weeks of aggravation afterwards, usually months. There is inevitably at least one to three snags that come along with every upgrade, for me that is. I have no clue why this is. My guess is a pretty good one if you ask me and that is that BETA testing was never long enough and ESET rushed to get the upgrade out.