eScan MWAV 4.4.7 vs eScan MWAV 4.8.7

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by flinchlock, Feb 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. flinchlock

    flinchlock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Michigan
    My observations about eScan AntiVirus ToolKit Utility Ver (4.4.7)

    I think mwavscan.com in the v4.4.7 version of MWAV.EXE has only these parameters:

    C:\MWAV447> strings mwavscan.com | find "/"
    /MEM
    /REG
    /STARTUP
    /SYSFOLDER
    /SYSAREA
    /SER
    /DRIVE
    /FOLDER
    /WAITTOEXIT
    /FS
    /RunDownload
    /SC
    /SNOC
    /DELETE

    ALSO, if you run mwavscan.com without no parameters, the first GUI button under "Action" says "Scan".

    BUT, if you run mwavscan.com /anything, the first GUI button under "Action" says "Scan Clean".

    -----------------------------------------------------

    My observations about eScan AntiVirus ToolKit Utility Ver (4.8.7)

    I think mwavscan.com in the v4.8.7 version of MWAV.EXE has only these parameters:
    (note: you'll have to "upx -d mwavscan.com" on a COPY OF MWAVSCAN.COM!)

    C:\MWAV487> strings mwavscan.com | find "/"
    /mem
    /service
    /log
    /MEM - Scan Memory
    /REG - Scan Registry
    /STARTUP - Scan Startup Folders
    /SYSFOLDER - Scan System Folders
    /SER - Scan Services
    /FOLDER=[FolderName] - Scan FolderName
    /SUBFOLDERS - Include Sub-Folder Scanning
    /DRIVE - Scan Local Drives
    /SNOC - Scan Only
    /SC - Scan and Clean
    /WAITTOEXIT - Wait for user to press OK
    /S - Silent Mode
    /FS - Full Silent Mode
    /NOLOG - Dont make Log
    /DELETE_IF_NOT_CLEANABLE - Delete if virus cannot be cleaned
    /DELETE_ALL_INFECTED - Delete all infected files
    /LOWPRIORITY - Run in Low Priority
    /MEM
    /REG
    /STARTUP
    /SYSFOLDER
    /SYSAREA
    /SER
    /DRIVE
    /SUBFOLDERS
    /SUBFOLDER
    /FOLDER
    /WAITTOEXIT
    /DELETE_ALL_INFECTED
    /LOWPRIORITY
    /NOLOG
    /DELETE_IF_NOT_CLEANABLE
    /DONOTWAITTOEXIT
    /Silent
    /FS
    /FullSilent
    /RunDownload
    /SC
    /SNOC
    /DELETE
    /BOOT
    /HELP

    ALSO, the GUI Help window (mwavscan.com /HELP) only displays some of the parameterso_O?

    -----------------------------------------------------

    Questions...

    #1 Does anyone know if ALL the v4.8.7 parameters work? (mwavscan.com /sc appears to NOT work)

    #2 Do any of the /DELETE... parameters work?

    #3 Anyone know where I can find more details about kavupd.exe and the C:\BASES folder?

    Thanks,

    Mike
     

    Attached Files:

  2. webmedic

    webmedic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    just curious how much info you can get into here a
    hm interesting. Thanks for the research on this. It would bear some testing that is for sure.
     
  3. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Well I am only the official tester for the commercial version of eScan, however I might look into this when I have the time (maybe two-three days?).
     
  4. botzap

    botzap Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    18
    I would try the parameters on v4.8.4, I still use the v4.4.7 copy which updates great using kavupd.exe getting all the supersecure database files.
     
  5. webmedic

    webmedic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    just curious how much info you can get into here a
    would you mind sharing that file? The 4.4.7 version that is.
     
  6. Ianb

    Ianb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Posts:
    232
    Location:
    UK
  7. flinchlock

    flinchlock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Michigan
    Aahhh... this very first line of my post is for V4.4.7. ;)
    Mike
     
  8. webmedic

    webmedic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    just curious how much info you can get into here a
    Yes I have found it now. And am quite happy with it. THank you.
     
  9. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Now you get cleaning of files too!!! I won't squeal to the eScan people, use your new wealth properly!!!
     
  10. webmedic

    webmedic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    just curious how much info you can get into here a
    thanks but it does not matter to me really. I use allot of different av's I think it's funny how everybody looks at statistics here and think one av is so much better than another. I dont really have a huge collection of virii to test with as far as samples go but I do work on live systems alsmost every day with live virii and some of them I would guess can be said to be in the wild. Other than that it gives me a very good cross section of virii and systems to test on so I get a very good idea of just how good different virii scanners work. I currently have a collection of about 5 different ones I use.

    I find that nod often catches things that kasperski doesn't but not always. The reason I like to use escan is because of xbases though. The only thing this version cleans is virii and not spyware and other things like it. It does make a good backup scanner to check against adaware and spybot. It seems to catch some things that adaware and spybot don't. I still have to clean those things by hand though.

    This all gives me a good checking through multiple scanners. and allot of time e-scan supports adaware's findings. Spybot always seems to catch the hard things that everything else misses but doesn't catch as much as adaware. This combined ith e-scan gives me that little bit of extra security.
     
  11. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    Sorry to bring up another old thread but I thought I might share my simple little batch file for updating and running eScan 4.4.7
    simply save the following file as eScan.bat and place in your escan free folder then run it. It will prompt you for action as to updating scanning etc. I find it is really easy to slip on a USB stick and pass out to people with infestations when I don't have the time. You can also place it on your desktop or wherever as long as you change the paths (ex .\ to C:\Escan\*.*) to your eScan folder.
    Code:
    @echo off
    REM ======================================================================
    REM
    REM Batch File -- Created with SAPIEN Technologies PrimalScript 3.1
    REM
    REM NAME: eScan.bat
    REM
    REM AUTHOR: DTM , Zer0-Tec Systems
    REM DATE  : 3/30/2005
    REM
    REM COMMENT: eScan KAV based Antivirus scanner file sanner and updater 
    REM
    REM ======================================================================
    
    REM Set Window title and explination
    TITLE eScan free command line front end - By DTM
    
    REM Description
    ECHO.
    ECHO This utility will allow you to use eScan free to check your PC for 
    ECHO virii.  This batch file also gives you the option to update your
    ECHO virus definition as long as you have an active internet connection.
    
    REM Choices
    :start
    ECHO.
    ECHO 1. Update your virus definitions*
    ECHO 2. Launch the eScan free console
    ECHO 3. Update and then Scan*
    ECHO 4. Exit program
    ECHO.
    ECHO NOTE: You need an active internet connection for the asterik marked options.
    ECHO.
    set choice=
    set /p choice=Please make your choice from the options above: 
    if not '%choice%'=='' set choice=%choice:~0,1%
    if '%choice%'=='1' goto UPD
    if '%choice%'=='2' goto SCN
    if '%choice%'=='3' goto USC
    if '%choice%'=='4' goto EXT
    ECHO "%choice%" Please try another option
    ECHO.
    goto start
    
    REM Update section
    :UPD
    CLS
    ECHO Starting antivirus update from KAV update server.
    START .\kavupd.exe
    CLS
    goto start
    
    REM Scan section
    :SCN
    CLS
    ECHO Please allow time to launch the eScan console, after pressing any key.
    ECHO.
    PAUSE
    START .\mwavscan.com /sc /sysarea
    CLS
    goto start
    
    REM Update and Scan combo
    :USC
    CLS
    ECHO Starting update from KAV servers, then launching scan. 
    START .\kavupd.exe
    ECHO.
    ECHO Please allow time for the scanner to load after you press any key.
    ECHO.
    PAUSE
    START .\mwavscan.com /sc /sysarea
    CLS
    goto start
    
    REM exit
    :EXT
    CLS
    HTH
    LK
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2005
  12. Ianb

    Ianb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Posts:
    232
    Location:
    UK
    Very useful. Thanks
     
  13. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    Np problem, and after looking at it I realized it was a little to basic so I modified it a little bit, I added a line that creates a text file with the date of you last update, which in turn is displayed after you run the batch once, so just add this batch to your *\Bases folder and you are good to go.
    Code:
    @echo off
    REM ======================================================================
    REM
    REM Batch File -- Created with SAPIEN Technologies PrimalScript 3.1
    REM
    REM NAME: eScan.bat
    REM
    REM AUTHOR: DTM , Zer0-Tec Systems
    REM DATE  : 3/30/2005
    REM
    REM COMMENT: eScan KAV based Antivirus scanner file scanner and updater 
    REM			Place this file in your *\Bases directory and run from there
    REM ======================================================================
    
    REM Set Window title and explination
    TITLE eScan free command line front end - By DTM
    
    REM Description
    CLS
    ECHO.
    ECHO Description:
    ECHO This utility will allow you to use eScan free, a Kaspersky based 
    ECHO solution to check your PC for virii.  This batch file also gives 
    ECHO you the option to update your virus definitions so long as you 
    ECHO have an active internet connection.
    ECHO.
    ECHO Instructions:
    ECHO Select your desired option below.  Please note that updating requires
    ECHO an internet connection which has already been initiated.  Dialup is
    ECHO supported but not recommended as virus definition updates can be large
    ECHO at times.
    ECHO.
    REM Choices
    :start
    ECHO.
    ECHO 1. Update your virus definitions
    ECHO 2. Launch the eScan free console
    ECHO 3. Update and then Scan
    ECHO 4. Exit program
    ECHO.
    TYPE .\update.txt
    ECHO.
    set choice=
    set /p choice=Please make your choice from the options above: 
    if not '%choice%'=='' set choice=%choice:~0,1%
    if '%choice%'=='1' goto UPD
    if '%choice%'=='2' goto SCN
    if '%choice%'=='3' goto USC
    if '%choice%'=='4' goto EXT
    ECHO "%choice%" Please try another option
    ECHO.
    goto start
    
    REM Update section
    :UPD
    CLS
    ECHO Starting antivirus update from KAV update server.
    DEL .\update.txt
    ECHO Your last update was %DATE%. >> .\update.txt
    START .\kavupd.exe 
    CLS
    goto start
    
    REM Scan section
    :SCN
    CLS
    ECHO Please allow time to launch the eScan console, after pressing any key.
    ECHO.
    PAUSE
    START .\mwavscan.com /sc /sysarea
    CLS
    goto start
    
    REM Update and Scan combo
    :USC
    CLS
    ECHO Starting update from KAV servers, then launching scan. 
    DEL .\update.txt
    ECHO Your last update was %DATE%. >> .\update.txt
    START .\kavupd.exe
    ECHO.
    ECHO Please allow time for the scanner to load after you press any key.
    ECHO.
    PAUSE
    START .\mwavscan.com /sc /sysarea
    CLS
    goto start
    
    REM exit
    :EXT
    CLS
     
  14. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    4.4.7 seems to no longer work. As you can see the virus defs are updated yet it
    mwavscan.com won't start. It seems someone put a stop to the free lunch (also the bat file needs to change to "KAVUpd.exe" - seems to be recognizing caps):

    http://img80.echo.cx/img80/2540/escan7zr.jpg
     
  15. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I may be not understanding all there is to know about the last posts. However my Mwav 4.4.7 still works. I just updated and ran a scan.
    Did I miss something?

    Jerry
     
  16. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    Well, my experience is that the screenshot shows the latest update as today. I then get a pop-up, stating the database is older than 30 days, when trying to start escan. At this point escan fails to start.
     
  17. Oddbod

    Oddbod Guest

    Hi.

    My escan still works here after a update today, bases dated with todays date.

    Just want to say thanks as well lynchknot for the great FF themes U do.
     
  18. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    You're welcome oddbod (hehe,odd Nic) - you are using 4.4.7?

    Perhaps someone will come along and can help me.
     
  19. Ned Slider

    Ned Slider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Posts:
    169
    No problems here - just updated and everything runs fine. I would suggest you try updating again.

    Ned
     
  20. Oddbod

    Oddbod Guest

    When i update, it creates copies of the files in my download dir & the root of the drive it installed on in a folder called bases, i just cut all the files from the bases folder & paste them in the mwav dir.

    Maybe if U still have the self extracting zip file it comes in U can try deleting the the mwav folder & unzip it again & try to update?

    Yes im using 4.4.7 at the moment as a backup for NOD.

    As for the themes, i a fan of Ur work & wanted to say thanks.
     
  21. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    lynchknot,
    I have no expertise in this area. Firecat helped me a lot, and if he is around perhaps he can help.
    I will be glad to try to answer any question.
    I do have mine loaded in C:\bases if that helps any.

    Jerry
     
  22. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    You might try copying kavupd.exe from one of the new versions over. I noticed that the updater did change some, but works fine for me in the old version. I also noticed that the updater has started copying the updates to Bases_X rather than just Bases.

    I also enjoy your themes, Lynchknot, they're the best :)
     
  23. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    thanks guys. I just re downloaded and deleted the old one. It works now but I have a problem of outpost reporting a port scan while updating. I had to exclude that IP.
     
  24. FastGame

    FastGame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Blasters worm farm
    Hi lynchknot, just want to say I'm a fan of your FF skins so thanks :)

    Also glad your eScan works now, mine always work fine. :cool:
     
  25. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    lol - you damn stalker! :ninja: yeah, you know I'm a fan of Fastgame's computer hardware.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.