Errors but no errors ?

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Banshee, May 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543
    I installed first defense on my "new" pc.Created a secondary snapshot.

    I updated my secondary snapshot and when it finished updating it showed an error:(above the progress bar) It read:
    -------
    29/05/2007 23.47 1000 CMD> COPY "Primary Snapshot" "Secondary Snapshot" EXCLUDE *.tmp
    29/05/2007 23.47 1032 Copying snapshot "Primary Snapshot" to "Secondary Snapshot"
    29/05/2007 23.51 1034 Copied 0.59 Gb (1805 files, 339 dirs); Deleted 0.04 Gb (765 files, 9 dirs); Errors 1; 4 minutes 2 seconds
    -----------

    In the transfer info details there was no error tho.It read errors:0


    Do I have to be worried ?
     
  2. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I saw this a few times too, I didn't accept this, it has to be right even on top. It's a mistery. I think nobody knows the answer here. This is a question for support.
     
  3. mata7

    mata7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    635
    Location:
    Mississauga, Canada
    i was for 3 weeks Whit raxco about this problem, after 3 weeks of sending file back and forward to support they never fix it or found what could be the problem, and now is been like 2 weeks they never contact me, i was lucky that i was using the trial so i stop using it cause i just don't know what the problem is and i cant trust it Whit all thus errors, i was getting like 35 and 100, do you use vista?
     
  4. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543
    Nope.Xp
     
  5. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,303
    Location:
    England
    The same happened to me Mata, lots of copy errors, tried various things for Raxco, then they stopped selling FD and I heard no more even though I wrote.
    I also have stopped using for now. Did not have vista, but did use that patch update.
     
  6. flinchlock

    flinchlock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Michigan
    Per my post Where to purchase ISR technologies

    Yup still waiting... wait, wait, I heard something... hell/hades freezing over... :rolleyes:

    THANK GOODS FOR ALL THE HELP HERE AT WILDER'S!

    Mike
     
  7. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543

    And now what ? Are we stuck ? I don't want to give up first defense.:mad:
     
  8. flinchlock

    flinchlock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Michigan
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1000358&postcount=13
    Per Todd, the guy that wrote the software.

    Mike o_O
     
  9. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    The development of FDISR is also frozen, they changed only three things, since I bought it.

    1. The feature for creating compressed snapshots.
    2. The compatibility with winVISTA.
    3. The boot method from MBR to PBR.
    Three improvements for selling FDISR to more users.

    But nothing of the wish list has been included in those releases.
     
  10. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543
  11. flinchlock

    flinchlock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Michigan
    Per Where to purchase ISR technologies
    If Raxco doesn't sell anymore, the support will also decrease stop.

    OT: The exact same thing when Symantec acquired PowerQuest PartitionMagic 8.0

    Mike
     
  12. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543
    I wonder if any of them "bootbackers" got the same problem and got it fixed somehow....Let's hope somebody shows up..
     
  13. flinchlock

    flinchlock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Michigan
    The next time I buy a highly recommended product here on Wilder's, I think I will just donate $ to Wilder's!
    Code:
    Product Name                            Qty    Type              Price        
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    FirstDefense Workstation 1-Pack         1      Download Version    US $55.96
    
    [B]Raxco Product Support                   1      Maintenance         US $13.99[/B]
    
                                                           Subtotal:   US $69.95
                                                           Shipping:    US $0.00
                                                                Tax:    US $0.00
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                              Total:   US $69.95
    Mike
     
  14. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Flinchlock - The regular price for FD was $69.95 and you got a discount which pretty much gave you the maintenance for nothing. Thanks to Raxco we got nothing.
     
  15. flinchlock

    flinchlock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Michigan
    Crap, I forgot about that... :oops:

    Mike
     
  16. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
     
  17. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024

    maybe you can live by that one,you have only one error i have sometimes 4 to 6 . and never had any problems,but it is no good thus sent them the logs.
     
  18. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    Just realise you have the FD ISR copy,**** they are out off biz. with this thingy,you can search FD-ISR forum for this problem,there in past more people with similar problems posting.
     
  19. flinchlock

    flinchlock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Michigan
    Not quite right, Raxco is just a re-seller of FD-ISR... they did sell and support FD-ISR.

    FD-ISR is "made" by http://www.leapfrogsoftware.com/
    Mike
     
  20. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    i ment to say,how can get these FD users their support,Raxco staying silent and Leapfrogg is only developper with no aid in support as far as i know.
     
  21. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543
    If bad comes to worse I can see people ditching first defense ..me included.I do hope it won't come to that.
     
  22. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I don't know about you, but it isn't often I cough up $70 for an app. If it works I'll be keeping it. If it gives me grief, I'll ask here and keep it. :D
     
  23. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    For the most part FD-ISR is a reliable app. If you look at some of the other sections of Wilders you'll see tens hundreds of app related issues. In this regard we're kinda fortunate. Yes, FD-ISR has some issues for some users, but w/ the help of the knowledgeable among us, we pretty much keep the tech support tickets to a minimum. I'm not suggesting that tech support is not needed, just that we have been able to solve some of the simple issues concerning FD-ISR.

    Personally I don't believe that Raxco abandoned us, just yet. Susie is on extended leave and I don't know if there is a replacement for her (yet or will there be)

    I'm sure this doesn't mean a hill of beans to those experiencing problems right now.

    With this being said, hopefully the developer (LeapFrog) will step up to the plate and accept trouble tickets to support the app that they designed. We were directed to Raxco (and other distributors) through LeapFrog since they do not distribute to end-users / non-corporate accounts.

    ...screamer
     
  24. jwcca

    jwcca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Toronto
    Hi Mata, Like you I get a lot, but they fall into two types. The first is jpg, gif, png files which are used by open applications. These show errors, but the file is copied, complete with the NTFS ADS streams. The second is the PG security files which do NOT copy and are correctly reported as errors, assuming that you wanted them copied. You must shutdown PG and then the files are copied.
    I went through a period where I tried to reduce the 'false' errors by closing other apps. but in the end, I just make sure that PG is 'off' and do a quick scan of the log to ensure that only jpg, gif and png files are shown. Actually doing two copies and checking only the second log is pretty easy.
    As for the concern in the rest of this thread, FD works, I'm not upgrading to Vista so I see no reason to be alarmed that support might disappear entirely. If 'it ain't broke' I won't need to fix it.
    Jim
     
  25. EASTER.2010

    EASTER.2010 Guest

    I see the whole picture very clearly now. Thank Goodness i got my copy b4 they made changes which also included (UGh!) Vista support, and therein lies a HUGE problem for ALL vendors trying to integrate Vista support into an XP app.

    My old version works to perfection provided i use nothing $M as in RSS Copy Engine and thats the way it will remain.

    I pity so many peeps who fell head over heels for Vista only to find they are in deeper doo doo then b4.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.