errors and files blocked when scanning?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 v3 Beta Forum' started by spookn, Apr 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. spookn

    spookn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    When doing a full sys scan, it seems as though there are a lot of files that NOD, beta 5, can't scan.
    Ex:
    C:\Documents and Settings\LocalService.NT AUTHORITY\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\Windows\UsrClass.dat - error opening (File locked) [4]

    C:\Documents and Settings\user\Desktop\f.JPG - error opening (Access denied) [4]

    C:\Documents and Settings\user\Desktop\XP tip jar\VERIZON\RASPOEE\OEMSETNT.INF - error opening (Access denied) [4]

    That is just 3 examples. There are a lot of them. Out of 34,155 files, I am guessing that around 1,200 files are being skipped. Seems like a lot.
    Thanks for any help
    Brian
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi Spookn, welcome to Wilders.

    These are "Locked" files, swap files that supposedly can not be infected by a virus.

    Hope this helps...

    Cheers :D
     
  3. spookn

    spookn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    thanaks
     
  4. spookn

    spookn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    Me again,
    Is it normal to have so many "locked" files? They also say "error" opening".
    I'm just curious about it.
    Thanks again
     
  5. spookn

    spookn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    Hey, me agin, and again!
    I should have checked my other box for mail before I got back to you.
    This is what Eset sent me about the :

    "error opening (Access denied) [4]"

    The above message means that the file is password protected (for example
    an archive) or that you do not have sufficient permissions to access the
    file. The on-demand scan runs under the Windows user account.

    Which seems kind of strange to me, as there are a lot of files it didn't scan. I need to see how to work around skipping so many files. I assumed if I logged on with admin rights, that nothing would be unaccessable.
    Any thoughts?
    Thanks, again and again
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi Spookn, have you seen the thread here on tweaking Nod32?

    Hope this helps...

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.