Error scanning MBR

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by mingus, Oct 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mingus

    mingus Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Posts:
    20
    Can't seem to get a .jpg to post. Found this link tho:

    [​IMG]

    Same problem with the latest version of Nod32.





    Added IMG tags
     
  2. optigrab

    optigrab Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Posts:
    624
    Location:
    Brooklyn/NYC USA
    Hi Mingus

    Your concern (not stated, but gleaned from the subject and first pic) about the error message has been covered previously in a separate thread:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=12533;start=msg80816#msg80816

    To quote another member: "More often than not... this happens if you are running NOD32 as a limited user with insufficient rights for access."

    I have the same issue when I run NOD32 logged in as a power user, but not when logged in as administrator. In all likelihood this is what is happening in your situation, and is nothing to worry about. You can confirm this if you run NOD32 as Administrator.

    I don't believe the 2nd pic you posted is related to your first issue or related to NOD32 in general - but this is just a guess on my part.

    Optigrab :)
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Hi mingus,

    optigrab is right, the problem is caused by design of Windows NT systems that do not allow other programs than those running under the administrator account to access MBR sectors.

    Anyway, I recommend that you update your NOD32 to the most current version 1.533. The one you have is quite outdated and may not detect new viruses.
     
  4. rflum

    rflum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    Rochester, New York, United States
    I heard about this somewhere; maybe in another part of this forum. The MBR (Master Boot Record) error sometimes happens if a DVD drive or memory stick is incorrectly recognized by your system as a "fixed drive".
    To check if this is the issue, right-click the "My Computer" icon on your desktop and select Properties. On the Hardware page of the System Properties dialog box, click Device Manager, and see what is listed under 'Disk drives'.
    Rob
     
  5. mingus

    mingus Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Posts:
    20
    Thanks for the ideas. This is an old screen shot. i could not get the current one to post - thus the old data files. I tried runing Nod32 as Admin same thing. also looked at my drives and all looks ok. these screen shots where actually separate issues. funny when I run Nod32 as administator I get that "run outlook" thing also. Seems to works well other than that.
     
  6. rflum

    rflum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    Rochester, New York, United States
    I assume you checked that Outlook is your default mail client, and that there's nothing wrong with its installation that would prevent it from doing whatever it is that NOD32 is trying to get it to do (maybe some handshake thing).
     
  7. rflum

    rflum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    Rochester, New York, United States
    One more suggestion, from a Goggle search:
    Close all open applications, including NOD32.
    Open Internet Explorer.
    Click the Tools menu, then click Internet Options. The Internet Options dialog appears.
    Under the Programs tab, change the E-mail option to anything other than Microsoft Outlook. Click Apply, and then click OK.
    Open the Internet Options dialog again, and change the E-mail option back to Microsoft Outlook.
    Click Apply and then click OK to close the Internet Options dialog.
    Exit Internet Explorer.

    Forgive the detail, but I wasn't sure if this is the normal way to switch default email clients. Rob
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.