Error reading from Disk ?!?!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Leo Mandy, Dec 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Leo Mandy

    Leo Mandy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Recently, I am getting an Error reading at 72% of the backup of my hard drive. This has never happened before. I have defrag'd and scanned, but there are no errors on the C: drive.
    I am backup up the C drive to my H drive using WinXp.

    So here are the questions :

    1) Is this a problem with my C: drive (the one I am trying to back up?) or the drive that I am backing it up onto (H:)?

    2) Will this affect the backup? I hit retry a few times, but nothing happens, so I hit ignore.

    3) I have defraged my c: drive and ran a scan on it, but there are no errors - so what could be causing this?

    4) If I need to recover my drive, will this error cause me not to effectively recover the entire drive?

    Thanks,
     
  2. Leo Mandy

    Leo Mandy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Any ideas?
     
  3. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Defrag doesn't fix errors, chkdsk /r does.
     
  4. Leo Mandy

    Leo Mandy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Check disk, huh? Where is that located. I am going to try that.


    Also,

    I am trying to get everything off the hd now and onto DVD, so I will free up a lot of room. I am hoping that it isn't anything major.
     
  5. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Click Start and choose Run. In the dialogue window type cmd. A dos window will open. Type chkdsk /r. You will be asked if you want to run the command the next time Windows starts. Choose Yes.

    Now restart the system and let chkdsk run.
     
  6. Leo Mandy

    Leo Mandy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Ok, thanks.

    Will it automatically fix the errors? Is there another switch for that?
     
  7. AlanMintaka

    AlanMintaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    NH
    I copied this from the cmd window after entering chkdsk /?

    That command displays all the command line switches for chkdsk. Here is the result:

    CHKDSK

    Checks a disk and displays a status report.

    CHKDSK [volume[[path]filename]]] [/F] [/V] [/R] [/X] [/I] [/C] [/L[:size]]


    volume Specifies the drive letter (followed by a colon),
    mount point, or volume name.
    filename FAT/FAT32 only: Specifies the files to check for fragmentation
    .
    /F Fixes errors on the disk.
    /V On FAT/FAT32: Displays the full path and name of every file
    on the disk.
    On NTFS: Displays cleanup messages if any.
    /R Locates bad sectors and recovers readable information
    (implies /F).
    /L:size NTFS only: Changes the log file size to the specified number
    of kilobytes. If size is not specified, displays current
    size.
    /X Forces the volume to dismount first if necessary.
    All opened handles to the volume would then be invalid
    (implies /F).
    /I NTFS only: Performs a less vigorous check of index entries.
    /C NTFS only: Skips checking of cycles within the folder
    structure.

    **********************

    Note that the /R option recovers damaged files (if possible) and "implies /F". That means it also fixes bad sectors, if it can.

    Hope this helps,

    Big Al Mintaka

    The /I or /C switch reduces the amount of time required to run Chkdsk by
    skipping certain checks of the volume.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Leo Mandy,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    If checkdisk doesn't find any errors, please make sure you use the latest build of Acronis True Image. To get access to updates you should first register your software.

    If updating doesn't solve the problem, please download the latest version of Acronis drivers and install it with disabled logging.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    - Reinstall Acronis drivers with enabled logging;
    - Reproduce the issue and collect the log file without closing any application windows (including the error message windows if there are any). The log file will be created at C:\ . The name of the log file will be snapapi [date-time].log

    Please create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please also collect the application log of the operation:
    - run the program;
    - select Show log on the toolbar or from the Tools menu;
    - select the log with error messages;
    - click "Save the log entry to file" (the diskette icon).

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.