Error on Restore : CRCDISK.SYS

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by RCG99, May 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RCG99

    RCG99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Perhaps someone can help me with this. I want to replace my single disk installation using Vista 32bit, with a 2-disk RAID setup. I created a full disk image from my existing installation onto a spare disk, replaced the single disk with the RAID pair, then set up the RAID array and re-formatted it.
    I then used TI to copy the image back to the RAID, and restarted.
    Having read the posts here about the winload.exe problem, I wasn't surprised to find that Vista dropped out with a blue screen (too brief to read). So as sugested I rebooted with the Vista DVD and ran Bootrec.exe, unfortunately this has not solved the problem. I have used both Bootrec options but neither of them fixed it. If I start Vista in safe mode, it gets through a couple of pages of drivers OK but then stops on CRCDISK.SYS.
    Is this the winload.exe problem, or something else? I did test the image by restoring to another single disk, and that worked OK.
     
  2. The4Bs

    The4Bs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Posts:
    37
    Our experience is with Windows XP but I *think* the same applies to Vista.

    Don't RAID arrays use different drivers for managing the hard disks versus single disk setups? I know in our Dell desktop we have a single disk but it uses the Intel iastor.sys driver to manage the chipset/hard drive communication since there are no native drivers in Windows. Our system is "RAID ready" if you will. These drivers have to be loaded from an outside source (diskette, USB drive, etc.) during the Windows instllation. I believe this is the same situation with Vista. So, I'm guessing that Windows is looking for a native Windows driver to manage your hard disk and it chokes on the RAID setup.

    Not sure if this is your issue or not but maybe something to ponder.

    edit: for clarification
     
  3. RCG99

    RCG99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks for the thought. I believe that the RAID driver is working OK, judging by the fact that so much of Windows is loading before it gets to CRCDISK.SYS.
     
  4. RCG99

    RCG99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Actually you were right! Although Vista is very happy with the RAID drivers and I can create a new installation straight to the RAID, when I do a restore from my image backup it forces Windows to use the single-disk driver that is inside the image. I don't see a way round this so it looks like I will have to do a full new installation. B****r!
     
  5. The4Bs

    The4Bs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Posts:
    37
    Can you restore to a single disk and then switch to a RAID array from within Vista? Surely you're not the first person to want to switch to a RAID set up mid stream.

    Is there a utility from your Intel (or whoever supplies your RAID setup) to accomplish that within Windows?
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello RCG99,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please note that The4Bs is right. The restored operating system not boot because of the lack of the appropriate drivers for your newly configured RAID controller. Please note that you can use the procedure described in this article to transfer the system to a RAID array.

    Another option is to use Acronis True Image in conjunction with Acronis Universal Restore. Please check this previous post of mine for details. Be aware that Acronis Universal Restore is a plug-in for corporate versions of Acronis True Image.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.