Error Messages after Latest Update

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Blackspear, Dec 10, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Since the Nod engine update 2 days ago, we have 5 machines getting error messages when windows has finished loading.

    Suggestions, or will there be a further engine update to fix the problem?

    Cheers :D
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Re:Error Messages

    More info on error message...
     

    Attached Files:

  3. MegaHertz

    MegaHertz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Posts:
    69
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Hey Blackspear the four PC's that we have at work that are getting a BSOD at shutdown are also getting that same error on boot up. I assumed it was from the BSOD.

    Just out of curiosity are all the machines XP?
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    ALL PC's are XP SP1, Spyware Guard, Spyware Blaster, Spybot Search and Destroy, Windows FULLY up to date... All setup like a fortress, all behind a linux firewall :D

    Nod update and error messages from there on in...

    Cheers :D
     
  5. Kevin

    Kevin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    28
    We're seeing the same thing here, all XP machines. It appears to have started occuring within the last few days. Our configuration - workstations have current OS patches, email is scanned prior to arriving on the workstations and we use a Cisco PIX firewall.
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    It should all be fixed soon, I have many many clients with the exact same problem...

    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=17741

    Cheers :D
     
  7. Kevin

    Kevin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    28
    Blackspear,
    Looks like the techs at NOD came through again, even coordinated with Microsoft, just forgot to let folks know at this site. There is an NOT THOROUGHLY TESTED patch that is available for XP with this problem. When the "send report to microsoft" prompt comes up, go ahead and send it. A series of prompts will appear as well as instructions about the patch. As reported in the instructions, this patch is not for wide desemination and only to be used if this particular error occurs. Use your best judgement with it. BTW once the patch was applied, I got the error again after the next reboot. I expect you'll have the same issue. Check the info box to ensure the patch has been applied and reboot again. If the AV gods are willing, you shouldn't see the error again.
    Good Luck

    Kevin
     
  8. AutoPiloT

    AutoPiloT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Italy
    Hello,

    Here from Italy the same.

    A network of 13 machines with XP SP1 got all the same problem.

    The BSOD says something like:

    amon.sys
    driver unloaded without cancelling pending opertation

    I hope the cure will come out soon...

    On another note:

    If I reinstall the older version of NOD32 on the clients and server, is it possible to update only the virus definitions and not the core components of the AV?


    Kind Regards
     
  9. Kevin

    Kevin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    28
    Autopilot,
    I don't know if you can get the current virus updates without the component upgrades. However you might try the solution I outlined above on one of your machines and see if it makes a difference.

    Kevin
     
  10. sig

    sig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    716
    I didn't upgrade the components when I saw others were having problems. The upgrade was pulled and as far as I'm aware hasn't been re-released. Once the component upgrades were pulled all I've seen to date have been virus definition updates.
     
  11. anotherjack

    anotherjack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    224
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Yes, you can do this:
    1. Open the NOD properties by clicking on the system tray icon
    2. Click "Update" in the left panel
    3. Click "Setup" in the right panel
    4. Click the "Change" button in the "Type of update" section on the right side. It probably says "Automatic / Automatic" right now
    5. Hit the dot for "Perform program component upgrade only if necessary for proper operation..." in the Program Component upgrade section
    6. Click "OK"
    7. Look at the "Type of update" section again. It should now say "Automatic" for Virus databases, and "Off" for Program Components.

    Your machine will now pull any available virus defs, and completely ignore any component updates until you change the selection that you changed in step 5 above.

    Jack
     
  12. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I have been notified that Eset have put up a temp server that fixes the problem, you have to add this server into the servers to choose from. I'm still waiting for the fix to come available from their "choose automatically" servers. A whole lot of my clients aren't tech savy at all, so for me to send instructions on adding a temp server is really not an option.

    Cheers :D
     
  13. anders

    anders Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    410
    Have you tried it at any location that has the problem, so you can verify that it works? If not, it might be a good idea to do it...

    Best regards,
    Anders
     
  14. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    We aren't getting BSOD's, we are all getting (myself and my clients) error messages after bootup.

    My question is, will the next update (2.000.9) fix this error message?

    Cheers :D
     
  15. AutoPiloT

    AutoPiloT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Italy
    Thank you jack,

    I've followed your advices, now everything work fine.

    I hope a fix will come out soon from eset.

    C'mon guys, this is the best AV 'round here! ;)

    I wanna sell more of 'em! ;)


    Kind Regards
     
  16. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Sent the error report to MS, having had no luck ever before with error messages. This time it worked, their online analysis gave the following (as attached).

    Now why couldn't someone from Eset simply say the "Next update 2.000.9 will fix the problem", how simple would that have been o_O

    We are NOT getting BSOD's, we are only getting error messages AFTER bootup (on the desktop).

    Cheers :D
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Blackspear,

    Notice this update is dated December 19th 2003 - less then 24 hours ago. It's quite common update announcements are published on the main website first, as has been the case here.

    It has been posted over here Eset was working on a solution by Eset reps ;)

    The update as mentioned is available btw and does work flawlessly.

    regards.

    paul
     
  18. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi Paul, I was advised by an Eset Mod to send the posted error message to Microsoft, by my Distributor to send by email to all my clients who are effected (I don't want to start a flood) the instructions on placing in a temp server into Nod update servers, this definately would have resulted in a flood of phone calls, way too many to handle for my small business. All I wanted to know was a straight answer, will the next version fix the error messages that I posted above (we are NOT getting BSOD's, ONLY error messages, and computers that will NOT turn off, they continually reboot), and no straight answer was given, I was led to believe it may have been a MS problem.

    After sending the error message to MS (finally one that actually had an answer), it gave a link to Eset, which states that the next PCU 2.000.9 will fix the problem. Which is all I wanted to know, with this being the case, I don't have to take a flood of phone calls, just sit back and relax and wait for the next update to roll on through :D

    Cheers :D
     
  19. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Blackspear,

    I see your point ;)

    Well, enjoy a relaxed weekend!

    regards.

    paul
     
  20. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Many thanks Paul, you too :cool:

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.