Error message

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by drhlsmith, Sep 16, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. drhlsmith

    drhlsmith Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1
    When I try to update files, I get the following....Error getting update information file.......
    I am running version 2.6.1
    I have uninstalled program, rebooted, and redownloaded and installed.
    Get same error.
     
  2. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,435
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi drhlsmith,

    Welcome at Wilders. :)

    Under Settings, put a checkmark in the "Use Alternative Download Method"

    Does that help?

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  3. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,017
    Actually, in this case the Alternative Download Method will not help.

    It sounds like a firewall-related error to me. Are you behind any type of device, or using any type of software that might block SpywareBlaster from getting the update information file?

    TIA. :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  4. Susan Pawley

    Susan Pawley Guest

    Hi! I am running ver. 2.6.0 and get the same error message. Also, I downloaded ver 2.6.1 and during the installation process, I get the error message:
    "error occured while trying to replace file. DeleteFile failed code 5. Access Denied"

    I would really like to install the new ver 2.6.1, can you give me any help?
     
  5. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,435
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Susan,

    See if this helps:
    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=12266

    The first tip refers to your error.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  6. Gordon

    Gordon Guest

    Hi

    I am using SWB 2.6.1 and also Norton Personal Firewall 2003. They have always worked fine together. NPF2003 would pop up asking me what to do, I would choose "Permit" and the updates would go fine. Now, almost as soon as I click on the "Update" button, that strange message (about firewalla, the server being down or corruption) comes up.

    I have created firewall rules for both the SWB exe file and the update exe. No luck.

    Any ideas?

    Many thanks for your time.

    Gordon
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. AAQQ101
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    371
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.