Error message W00040011

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Inside, May 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Inside

    Inside Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Hello,

    I have taken a backup with 'Acronis Thrue Image' but the backup doesn't work. I get this error message each time I try to recover "W00040011 Please insert the media marked 'volume 1'". Press retry when ready or press cancel to cancel the operation and stop.

    There are 19 files of about 4 giga and the last file 48 MB. The files are on the harddisk, not on a DVD. Maybe this is also important, first de backup's stood on the HD C:\ with a NTFS partition. Later I have copied them to another HD with a FAT partition.

    Is there someone who can help me, It's very important.

    Inside,
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2008
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Inside,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Backup software.

    Such an error message usually comes up if one or more of the volumes backup archive consists of is corrupted. So please check if you can validate backup. Please tell us about results. Backup volumes could also get corrupted when you copied them from one drive to another. If you have such an ability, please try to restore from the original place where the backups are stored.

    Thank you
    --
    Nikita Sakharov
     
  3. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Have you validated the image on the FAT32 drive?

    Have you booted from the TI Recovery CD and tried the validation from there?

    When the backup image was on the NTFS partition, was it also 19 files? If not, copying the backup to the FAT32 partition caused it to be split into the many pieces because the largest file size on FAT32 is 4GB. My guess is that the backup was corrupted during this process.

    Check the names of the 19 parts of the backup on the FAT32 drive. They shold be named:
    Your_name1.tib
    Your_name2.tib
    Your_name3.tib

    Where Your_name is the name of the file when it was on the NTFS drive. If the files are not named this way, rename them to fit this pattern where the first part of the name is identical followed by a number from 1 to 19 and all ending in .tib. Then try to validate the backup.

    If there is any doubt about the order of the 19 files, check the time they were created. The earliest time is part 1 and the next to last is 18 with the smaller file and last time as part 19.
     
  4. Inside

    Inside Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Hello,

    When I open te first file of the backup I get these message : "An error occurred when opening the backup archive: Cannot continue the operation due to eihter teh backup is corrupted or is used by another proces, for example the backup has been mounted as a disk."

    This is so for the 19 files of 4.194.304 kb. The last file (20) is 48.104 kb.

    When I open this file with the windows explorer I get this “Backup za. Sept 08 07 11:56:36, I go further and I get “D:”, then de DIR “MyBackup”, and I can see all my documents, but I can’t open them or restore.

    When I try recover my backup with 'Acronis Thrue Image' I get this error message each time I try to recover :

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=117196&highlight=w00040011

    I take de first file (MyBackyp1.tib) and I get the same message as above “An error occurred when opening the backup archive: Cannot continue the operation due to eihter teh backup is corrupted or is used by another proces, for example the backup has been mounted as a disk”

    When I select “MyBackup1.tib, MyBackup2.tib - MyBackyp19.tib” Thrue Image said "The selected file is not a Acronis True Image Home archive."

    When I select "MyBackup20.tib" the last file, then is see this message :

    Mybackup20.tib
    Backup archive name : MyBackup.tib
    Backup archive type : image
    The selected backup is available for this backup archive.

    No description is available for this backup archive.

    Date: vrijdag 7 september 2007 16:59:46
    Size: 76,05 GB

    And I see my three partitions C: D: E:


    But I can't recover my backup and there are some important documents that I needed.

    I hope you can help me, thx anyway.

    Inside
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2008
  5. Inside

    Inside Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Hello,

    When I open te first file of the backup I get these message : "An error occurred when opening the backup archive: Cannot continue the operation due to eihter teh backup is corrupted or is used by another proces, for example the backup has been mounted as a disk."

    This is so for the 19 files of 4.194.304 kb. The last file (20) is 48.104 kb.

    When I open this file with the windows explorer I get this “Backup za. Sept 08 07 11:56:36, I go further and I get “D:”, then de DIR “MyBackup”, and I can see all my documents, but I can’t open them or restore.

    When I try recover my backup with 'Acronis Thrue Image' I get this error message each time I try to recover :

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showt...ight=w00040011

    I take de first file (MyBackyp1.tib) and I get the same message as above “An error occurred when opening the backup archive: Cannot continue the operation due to eihter teh backup is corrupted or is used by another proces, for example the backup has been mounted as a disk”

    When I selected “MyBackup1.tib, MyBackup2.tib - MyBackyp19.tib” Thrue Image said "The selected file is not a Acronis True Image Home archive."

    When I selected "MyBackup20.tib" the last file, then is see this message :

    Mybackup20.tib
    Backup archive name : MyBackup.tib
    Backup archive type : image
    The selected backup is available for this backup archive.

    No description is available for this backup archive.

    Date: vrijdag 7 september 2007 16:59:46
    Size: 76,05 GB

    And I see my three partitions C: D: E:

    But I can't recover my backup and there are some important documents that I needed.

    I hope you can help me, thx anyway.

    Inside
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2008
  6. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Which version of True Image are you using?


    Colin
     
  7. Inside

    Inside Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Hoi,

    The backup has been made with Acronis True Image Home 10.0. Now I use Acronis True Image Home version 11.0 (build*8.053).

    Inside,
     
  8. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Are you able to check if v10 can read the images? Although v11 should be able to read v10 images, the imaging algorithm was changed for v11.

    At least you'd be some way towards knowing if your images were more than likely corrupted if v10 can no longer read them.

    Colin
     
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Inside,

    You might also try the latest build of TI 11 (8,101).
     
  10. Inside

    Inside Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    The problem was identical with version ten, for this reason I have tried it with version 11, and unfortunately without result.

    Inside,
     
  11. Inside

    Inside Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Ok I try, thanx

    Inside,
     
  12. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    Have you still got the original backup on C:\?
    If so and if you are using XP (not sure about Vista) you can convert the other hard drive to NTFS without loss of data, copy the backup again and either check the MD5 sum of both files or validate the copied file from the rescue CD, assuming that the other hard drive is a USB drive you may have to copy the file more than once to get a successful copy.
     
  13. Inside

    Inside Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Hoi,

    Pffff, what I try, nothing succeeds. Is there really no manner to recuperate the backup ?

    Inside
     
  14. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    Your image is corrupted. Finish.
    A corrupted image you cannot repair.

    Did you directly validate the image after creating?

    If not:
    What do you want to hear from us?
     
  15. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Can you post a screenshot of Windows Explorer showing the Detail List of the image files (the display that includes the filenames, date and times)? It may help to see it. It's possible something got screwed up with one of the splits.

    Also, since this thread is old and I want to verify it, this is a partition or disk image, correct?
     
  16. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Inside,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Could you please clarify if the image was split during the creation process, or it was created as a single file?

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.