error message on boot up

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by pjsyoga, Jan 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pjsyoga

    pjsyoga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    OS:Vista SP2/32 bit

    I downloaded a trial version of Paragon Systems Back Up 2010
    software and did not like it, so I removed it from the computer. However, upon boot up after the bios window, I get a brief message to press F6 to use the recovery disk, which I never created. After the message, boot up continues normally. How do I remove this brief message from occurring?
     
  2. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    It is small program written to the first track of the HD.

    You could have uninstalled it from within SB2010.

    As you have uninstalled SB2010 - any program that will rewrite the mbr should do the job.

    If you have other Paragon products - in the main window rt click the Disk ( not a partition ) and select Update mbr, Apply.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=213725&d=1258336743

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=213726&d=1258336752


    OR boot the windows 7 recovery disc/dvd and run startup repair.

    OR install Easybcd 2.0 - it's free.

    Click Manage Bootloader - Dot reinstall Vista /7 bootloader , then click Write mbr.

    EASY - WRITE MBR-2010-01-10_010500.jpg


    Hope it helps.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2010
  3. pjsyoga

    pjsyoga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Hello SIW2,
    Thank you for the reply.
    I dowmloaded the Easybcd Beta 2.0 and clicked on "Write mbr". The program would not respond.

    Please see attachment. Please advise
    Thank you
     

    Attached Files:

  4. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Curious, I haven't seen that before from Easy - still , it is beta.

    I presume before you installed Easy , you rt clicked the installer , Unblock, Apply, OK. ?

    Then to install it you rt click the Easy installer and selected Run as Admin. ?

    Okay in that case, click Useful Utilities, then click Easybcd Power Console.

    A black command window will open.

    type:

    bootsect /nt60 sys /mbr

    (careful of the spacing - copy and paste the above if you like )

    Then press enter.

    Close command prompt and Easybcd.
     
  5. pjsyoga

    pjsyoga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Hello SIW2,
    Even though the program did not respond. I shut down the computer and rebooted it. The message did not appear again. I guess it fixed the problem.
    Thank you for your help, I couldn't have done it without you!
     
  6. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    You're welcome.

    In fact Easybcd was running the exact command I posted - it does it for you. It says not reponding while it is doing that - usually only for a few seconds.

    I thought you meant it had somehow "stuck" at that stage.

    I think that is to stop the user trying to do something else while it is running the commands. A better message would be "working - please wait."

    Glad all is well.
     
  7. pjsyoga

    pjsyoga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    I am use to the not responding command with Windows Explorer when it crashes. Your suggestion would be better!
    Thank you!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.