Error message after 9 hours!

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by jimnutt, Nov 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jimnutt

    jimnutt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    I am a very new user, having only just downloaded the free version.

    I have tried two or three times to create a backup of one of my computers, but each time, after 8 or 9 hours of creation, I get the error message 'VSS Cannot Read volume data'
    What should I do - and how long should the initial backup take to complete when it goes to the endo_O?
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I would run chkdsk X: /r on the partition being backed up. It may be encountering an unreadable sector. Replace the X in the command with the drive letter of the partition you want tested.

    Normally if you have VSS problems it gets stated right away. There are many reasons for VSS not working and they aren't really related to Paragon. However, in the options you can unselect VSS and use Paragons own hot backup method and see if it works. I'd certainly run chkdsk first though.
     
  3. jimnutt

    jimnutt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    I,ve tride that and am now 3 hours into the new backup - I hope it works this time . . .:cool:
     
  4. jimnutt

    jimnutt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    My luck is still out - the same thing happened again: 'VSS Cannot Read volume data'

    Any suggestions for what the next step is?
     
  5. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    what security software do you have running in case it somehow interferes
     
  6. jimnutt

    jimnutt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    AVG Free
     
  7. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    You can try shutting off AVG.

    The error message does sound like it can't read the disk for some reason. Did you look at the report from chkdsk /r ? It is in the Windows Event Viewer.

    If you go to Tools - Settings - Hot Processing Options you can change from VSS to Paragon's own hot processing method. The screen also indicates you need 300MB of free space for VSS but one would think that this is checked before it starts. However, if you are putting the archive onto the same partition as being backed up it is possible this space could drop below the required amount even if it isn't very much by today's disk sizes.

    I don't know your disk layout but there is an option to put the VSS scratch area on other partitions. If you aren't, try putting it on a partition that isn't being backed up.
     
  8. jimnutt

    jimnutt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    I am trying to backup to a portable herd drive with ample free space, so there shouldn't be a problem.
    There was an error when I ran chkdsk, but I cannot find the record file.

    I will try to change from VSS to Paragon's system if the same thing happens again.
     
  9. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    The chkdsk report file is in the Event Viewer.

    In XP: Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Event Viewer - System

    I think it is under an entry called Wininit. If you click the Source title at the top it will sort them all alphabetically which may help you find it.
     
  10. jimnutt

    jimnutt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    There is no such entry in this location.
     
  11. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I found a reference, and I think this one is correct, that it is in Winlogon. It could be that if no errors are found no entry is written.
     
  12. jimnutt

    jimnutt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    I've tried both and it still stops with the same error. Any other suggestions?
     
  13. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,280
    The obvious suggestions: run the manufacturer´s diagnostics for the disk, create the image from a WinPE medium, so you don´t use VSS, or try another imaging program.
     
  14. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Yes, go to the website of your hard-disk maker (Western Digital, Seagate, Samsung, etc) and download their hard-disk diagnostic tool program and run it.

    Your problem really looks like some bad HD sectors.

    The vendor diagnostics are considered to be more thorough than chkdsk.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.