Error loading Vista after restoring partition

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by purell, Nov 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. purell

    purell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I restored the primary vista partition using ver 10. After boot - I received error message saying can't find windows\system32\winload.exe.

    I went into vista setup - repair - it said partition wasn't declared. It fixed it in 10 seconds - rebooted and now it's fine.

    Seems like ver 10 restored the partition, but lost the partition info or something. BUG:'(
     
  2. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Did you select the option to restore the MBR along with the partition - or did you leave this blank?

    If you did include it, has your partition layout changed since you backed up ?

    F.
     
  3. jeremyotten

    jeremyotten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    684
  4. purell

    purell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I left it blank first - restored. Then went in and did it again and selected mbr option.

    On the please select a partition or a whole hard drive to restore screen - it didn't allow to select both.
    It allowed to me to choose either mbr or hd not both.

    Then rebooted again but got the same error.

    Maybe I had to choose the mbr first? I don't know doesn't make sense.

    Version 8 was faster in restoring and didn't have these bugs. Maybe I should try version 8 in vista. lol

     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.