Error in advscn.dll

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by tutankamon, Apr 9, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tutankamon

    tutankamon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Posts:
    170
    Location:
    Lancashire U.K.
    Hi all,
    I have been getting this message again, When I look at advscn.dll /properties I see size = 34KB Archive box ticked. This dosnt look right to me.
     
  2. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi Tut,
    Which error message do you get and where is the file and why is it not right?
    I don't have that file so i can't tell nothing about it. Where does it come from? Google doesn't give any info.
    Are you sure you didn't make a typo?

    advscan.dll i do have, 34kb 14 march 2005
    It's a DiamondCS file and might be part of the radius update.

    It was discussed here too:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=121218#post121218
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2005
  3. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Can you determine what file was being scanned when this happened ?
     
  4. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi Tut,

    As Jooske wrote: are you perhaps talking about the TDS-3 file advscan.dll ?

    And what kind of error message did you get?
    Was it perhaps a warning from the CRC32-test in TDS-3 that this file was changed?

    If the answers to above questions was yes, then there is here some background info:

    When you download a new Radius-file (the definitions for TDS-3), then usually the file Radius.TD3 is changed.
    Sometimes however a new Radius-file comes also with a new DCSMUTEX.DLL and/or advscan.dll file.
    TDS-3 will automatically handle these things for you.

    Now as for advscan.dll and the CRC32-test:
    Let's assume that you have put your file advscan.dll in your crcfiles.txt so the CRC32 test will warn you in case that file has changed.
    Let's now also assume that on a certain day Gavin had updated that file advscan.dll.
    As far as I know, the CRC32 test will in this particular case (with respect to advscan.dll) only warn you of a change after a reboot and restart of TDS-3; well, that's the way it goes at least on my machine.

    As Jooske wrote:
    The last time advscan.dll was changed, was on 14-March-2005
    The size is 34.0 kb (34.816 bytes).
    The MD5 checksum is: 1e131a01d49e0d96f47ef933673b42e6
    And yes, the Archive box for that file is indeed ticked on my machine too ;)

    I hope this helps.
    Cheers, Jan.
     
  5. tutankamon

    tutankamon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Posts:
    170
    Location:
    Lancashire U.K.
    Hi all,
    Sorry for my late reply, but I have been at work. I remebered that I had this same problem before, and I posted it to this site on Jan 5 2004
    and I had replies from Jooske, and Pilli, this is part of that post>
    . I am concerned that they may be some corruption of the file.
    As jooske has suggested maybe the Radius file was corrupt, rename it radius.old and replace it with the one from here : http://tds.diamondcs.com.au/index.php?page=update
    So this is what I did, I then reloaded TDS3 and carried a full system scan, all seems OK now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.