Error during resize

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by Vistaro, Sep 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vistaro

    Vistaro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Hi, I was resizing a partition (C DRive) when I got the Blue Screen of death! Now I can't reboot or do anything! I have booted from the acronis disk and can see my C Drive which has an error - File system error: File record Corrupted, can anyone tell me what I should do?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Did the partition resize or is it still showing the same size as before?

    Do you have a backup of the partition (TI backup, for example)?
     
  3. Vistaro

    Vistaro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Hi, Thanks for teh reply.

    The partition does not appear to have resized. The drive is aplit into two partitions (C & D) I use D for data and have a full back up (3 generations in fact!) but I don't have a back up of C which is basically just Windows and Progs so I can re-install, just a real pain! I'm guessing it's all there if only I could get at it!
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Were you taking space from D: to add to C:?

    When you started the resize, did you start it in Windows and the computer rebooted to do it or did you boot to the DD CD to do it?

    You say you have a full backup, but not a backup of C: partition? What does the "Full" backup contain?

    Do you only have a backup of the D: partition?

    A chkdsk /f C: may fix the problem, but it may also make you lose files if it's really corrupted.

    Will DD let you explore the C: partition?
     
  5. Vistaro

    Vistaro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    HI

    Yes - Was taking from D to give to C

    Yes - The computer rebooted

    The full backup contains all the files on D:

    Yes - Only have a backup of D:

    DD will let me explore the C: parition but it doesn't see any files

    Since I can't boot not sure how I can run CHDSK?

    Thanks
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Before running chkdsk, I would recommend you create a backup image of the C: partition using TI (assuming TI will let you). This should have been done before doing the resize, but it's too late for that now.

    What OS are you running? Is it XP?

    If you have an XP install CD you should be able to boot it and drop to the Recovery Console and run chkdsk.

    If you have a BartPE CD, then you could boot that and run chkdsk from a Command Prompt window.
     
  7. Vistaro

    Vistaro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Hi

    Take your point abour backup before, it normally runs so amoothly so I've become complacent, totally my fault!

    I'll try your suggestions and get back to you. Thanks
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    DD is supposed to be "data-safe", but things can go wrong (as you found out). Even if you're just doing what you feel is a "simple" partition operation, it's still better to create a backup image before, just in case. You've wasted a little time if everything goes okay, but if it saves you just one time, you won't ever think that way again.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.