Error during quarantine

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by DanL, Nov 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DanL

    DanL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Posts:
    159
    NOD32 found a virus last night while I was running a scan with Trojan Hunter.
    I clicked quarantine, then delete.
    I got a pop up that said "an error occurred during quarantine"
    with the option to "retry".
    I clicked retry but apparently the quarantine failed.

    All I have is this from the virus log:

    Time Module Object Name Virus Action User Info
    11/26/2004 23:10:13 PM AMON file C:\DOCUME~1\Dan\LOCALS~1\Temp\7Rxdih.exe probably unknown STEALTH.POLY.CRYPT.TSR.DRIVER virus error quarantining the object - - deleted D8CLDL31\Dan


    Any thoughts?

    Thanks

    Dan
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    DanL

    What does your scan log say as well as the virus log?
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    Since the file was detected in a temp. folder, I presume it was deleted before NOD could quarantine it.
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    If you rerun the scan I presume the virus is gone?

    Cheers :D
     
  5. DanL

    DanL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Posts:
    159
    A scan with NOD32 after this found no virus. :D

    The original scan was being run by Trojan Hunter, when the virus window popped
    up from NOD32, so there was no scan log from NOD32.

    Dan
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Do the logs from Trojan Hunter show that it deleted the file?

    Cheers :D
     
  7. DanL

    DanL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Posts:
    159
    No.........TH never picked anything up.

    Dan
     
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    OK, AMON has deleted the file, and unfortunately for whatever reason there has been an error while quarantining the file, which is a pity.

    Cheers :D
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    Well, the file has actually been deleted by the oper. system itself from the temp folder before AMON could take any action. This is common for any virusese detected in temp folders - AMON springs into action and blocks further malicious actions - the oper. system deletes the file and when AMON is to carry out any action it's unable to find the file any more.
     
  10. Gauthreau

    Gauthreau Guest

    NOD just found the same thing on my parents computer. I also found about a million (ever so slight exageration :) ) spyware components as well. Something was calling home, DSL lights were just flying. All seems to have calmed down since I've run AV and Spyware removal tools. It only took me a few hours to clean it all up...

    Neil
     
  11. eisefr

    eisefr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Germany
    I had the same issue with NOD Version 1.? (Dont know anymore which version it was)

    Eset-SUpport adviced me to install Version 2.x of NOD32 .. and since then I was able to quarantaine or delete any virus.
     
  12. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi Neil, for future reference, there is a thread here on cleaning an infected system: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=47830 see post number 2.

    Hope this helps...

    Cheers :D
     
  13. DanL

    DanL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Posts:
    159
    I had this quarantine error happen again last night, and once again, it happened while
    Trojan Hunter was running a scan.

    Is it possible something in TH is causing this?
    It was labeled the same type of virus.

    I ran NOD32 afterwards and found nothing.....Hmmm.

    Dan
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.