Error at Amon initialization

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by tosbsas, Dec 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    Hey guys

    have sold a friend of mine to buy nod - but wierd thing happens.

    She is on XP sp1 all updates and when starting it says: error at initialization of resident protection - She has to open the cc and start it manually - any ideas.

    She is on version 2.12.3

    Ruben
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
    tosbsas

    I would try a reinstall over the top. If that doesn't work uninstall and delete the Eset folder in program files and install again.
     
  3. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi Ruben,

    Any other AV(s) installed or remnants from them on that system?

    regards,

    paul
     
  4. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    No virgin installation. And I did uninstall, passed easycleaner and reinstall - some thing

    Ruben
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
    Can you get an update as it stands now?
     
  6. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    yes - no problem - just did that
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
    Try restarting the computer. If you have done that, I would redownload and reinstall. If that doesn't work, there is a conflict somewhere.
     
  8. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    ok, will try

    Ruben
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    It may also be due to insufficient disk space (which, I think, is not the case) or defective memory if installing NOD32 from scratch doesn't make any difference.
     
  10. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    Think I found it - excluded ewido and kerio firewall from amon - and up to now it works - might be a specific problem with the starting of those three

    Ruben
     
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
    I use Kerio 2.15. Are you using a later version? I've also had Ewido on here with the guard running and have not experienced the problem you mention.
     
  12. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    don't know - but here it fixes it 80% of the time

    Ruben
     
  13. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    here is the real fix - just to let you know - There was not enough RAM on this Computer - 128 MB with OS Xp Home. After installing 256 MB more - the problem went away

    Ruben
     
  14. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Thanks for keeping us up to date Ruben, and nice to see you had a result.

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.