Error at Amon initialization

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by tosbsas, Dec 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    Hey guys

    have sold a friend of mine to buy nod - but wierd thing happens.

    She is on XP sp1 all updates and when starting it says: error at initialization of resident protection - She has to open the cc and start it manually - any ideas.

    She is on version 2.12.3

    Ruben
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    63,890
    Location:
    Texas
    tosbsas

    I would try a reinstall over the top. If that doesn't work uninstall and delete the Eset folder in program files and install again.
     
  3. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi Ruben,

    Any other AV(s) installed or remnants from them on that system?

    regards,

    paul
     
  4. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    No virgin installation. And I did uninstall, passed easycleaner and reinstall - some thing

    Ruben
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    63,890
    Location:
    Texas
    Can you get an update as it stands now?
     
  6. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    yes - no problem - just did that
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    63,890
    Location:
    Texas
    Try restarting the computer. If you have done that, I would redownload and reinstall. If that doesn't work, there is a conflict somewhere.
     
  8. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    ok, will try

    Ruben
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,408
    It may also be due to insufficient disk space (which, I think, is not the case) or defective memory if installing NOD32 from scratch doesn't make any difference.
     
  10. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    Think I found it - excluded ewido and kerio firewall from amon - and up to now it works - might be a specific problem with the starting of those three

    Ruben
     
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    63,890
    Location:
    Texas
    I use Kerio 2.15. Are you using a later version? I've also had Ewido on here with the guard running and have not experienced the problem you mention.
     
  12. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    don't know - but here it fixes it 80% of the time

    Ruben
     
  13. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    here is the real fix - just to let you know - There was not enough RAM on this Computer - 128 MB with OS Xp Home. After installing 256 MB more - the problem went away

    Ruben
     
  14. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Thanks for keeping us up to date Ruben, and nice to see you had a result.

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.