Error #5 - Access is denied

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Volkmar, May 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Volkmar

    Volkmar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Posts:
    55
    Hi there,

    my notebook developed some strange behaviour and I had to fix a couple of issues (e.g. Outlook pst file damaged).
    I'm using Acronis True Image Home and that also is impacted. When I try to execute one of the stored tasks (or even a brandne one), I receive the following message:
    +++++++++++++++
    Error
    Failed to run the task
    Failed to execute the taks script. Error #5 - "Access is denied - (0xFFF0)".
    +++++++++++++++
    I suspected an issue with file ownership and tried to change that, but without success.

    Any ideas?

    Worst case I have to reinstall. Would my already created archives be recognized by the fresh install? I assume I have to redo all created tasks?

    Thanks
    Volkmar
     
  2. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    1. where does your archive images reside? On an external disk?
    2. why don't you use the rescue-cd of Ti to restore an image?
     
  3. Volkmar

    Volkmar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Posts:
    55
    Hi,

    yes, they are on an external USB Harddrive.

    Well, actually haven't thought about it :eek:
    Thinking about it, I'm not sure what files exactly I should restore to fix ATIH.

    Volkmar
     
  4. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    Do you have full backups or data-backups?

    If you have full backups you can restore a whole partition.
     
  5. Volkmar

    Volkmar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Posts:
    55
    Hi,

    well I don't want to restore an entire partition to fix this specific issue. The risk that things get worse is too high for me...

    Any other ideas how to fix ATI Home 2009 behaviour?
    Will I keep my files after ATI reinstall?

    Thanks.
     
  6. Volkmar

    Volkmar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Posts:
    55
    Hi again,

    I have reinstalled ATI Home 2009 - no success.

    Í can't create new backups, also not on other drives.

    Any suggestions?

    Cheers V.
     
  7. Volkmar

    Volkmar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Posts:
    55
    topic solved with the help of Acronis Customer Support.
    Thanks.
    Volkmar
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.