error 1721. there is a problem with this installer package

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by evansgo, Apr 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. evansgo

    evansgo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Has anyone seen this on an installation before? Error 1721. there is a problem with this installer package.

    I am running Vista X64 and had FD running ok, but decided to update it with the latest version. So I uninstalled it, then tried to install the new version and it gets about 90% through the installation but then comes up with this message. I have googled it and tried all of the various suggestions with no luck so far. Suggestions welcome :)
     
  2. Leapfrog Software

    Leapfrog Software Leapfrog Management

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    251
    Location:
    Northern Nevada, USA
    Greetings Evansgo,

    I have seen this with several applications, including FD-ISR. It is a MS installer issue. I have found that this routine works 75% of the time.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/891985
     
  3. evansgo

    evansgo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Yes it must be because even the previous version of FD will not now load. Yet all other programs I've tested tonight will uninstall / install fine.

    I'm afraid that I am in the other 25% as I've already tried those methods, but thanks for the suggestions and as I cannot install FD I cannot get any of my snapshots to revert to an earlier period which is my usual get out of things like this :)
     
  4. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,291
    Location:
    England
  5. evansgo

    evansgo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    :D
    Thanks all for the help, I have now fixed it so I thought that I'd pass on how in case it helps any-one else.

    After trying ALL sorts of things I finally decided to rename the $ISR folder and try again, so I did this and immediatly it installed fine. So I then deleted the new $ISR folder and renamed my "old" one back, rebooted and all is fine (or appears to be).
     
  6. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Well, that's a damn good solution, evansgo, compared to where I ended up a few weeks ago.:(

    I ended up giving up and deleting all snapshots and removing every trace of FD-ISR everywhere. THEN, the install ran fine. I got close, but no cigar - you got that.

    I wish I'd thought of your improvisation - I may have saved those snapshots.

    Good job.:thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.