Err4:VFloppy load failed, MBR Corrupt!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by LaupSavea, Jun 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LaupSavea

    LaupSavea Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    I am using Windows Xp SP2.

    I used trueimage 8 to copy my EIDE data drive to a SATA Drive.
    The process seemed to go fine and told me to press a key to shutdown.
    After shutting down, I detached my original EIDE disk and powered up.
    After the normal BIOS boot messages I got this error:

    Err4:VFloppy load failed, MBR Corrupt!
    Press any key to boot active partition.

    Well I pushed a key and nothing happened.

    I repeated the above after a number of cold resets and still get the same.

    The trueimage Boot CD I created doesnt seem to have anything on it to help me.

    I dont understand why my boot drive has been affected when I wasnt copying to or from this drive.

    Does anyone know of a way of restoring my boot drive?
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello LaupSavea,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Firat of all we recommend you to update your copy of Acronis True Image 8.0 to the 859 build. In order to get access to updates you should register account on our site (or just log in if you have already created it) and then register your copy of the product.

    Could you please do the following?

    - Download the Acronis Report utility from http://www.acronis.com/files/support/AcronisReport.exe;
    - Run Acronis Report utility and select the "Create bootable floppy" option;
    - Insert a blank floppy disk in the floppy drive and proceed with creating the bootable diskette;
    - Boot the computer under consideration from this diskette and wait for report creation process to complete;
    - Send the 'report.txt' file from the floppy disk to support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread and indicate in the subject of the letter that you want to contact Irina Shirokova.

    We will investigate the problem and help you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  3. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello LaupSavea,

    Can't tell from your post but can we assume that you entered your motherboard's BIOS setup and changed the boot device from EIDE to SATA?

    If you do eventually get it to boot you will probably need to carry out a Windows "Repair" reinstall in order to add your motherboard's SATA drivers.

    Regards
     
  4. tronic592001

    tronic592001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    164
    Location:
    Wales uk
    LaupSavea hi
    Have you tryed the fixmbr witch can be found on one of the stickies.

    copy to floppy or cd and then boot with floppy or cd....

    :rolleyes:
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello tronic592001,

    Please let me correct you a little bit. If you wish to fix MBR with the floppy using the tool described at Acronis Help Post you don't need to copy the file specified there to the floppy drive (actually, you won't be able to do that since it is larger than the floppy drive capacity). You need to run it with the floppy drive inserted and it will make the inserted floppy bootable.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  6. tronic592001

    tronic592001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    164
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Acronis Support


    Whoooops

    :'(
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.