ERAS, Laptop Settings?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by AStaley, May 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AStaley

    AStaley Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    Finally persuaded my company to purchase Nod32 for our PC's/Laptop. I know have a config setup for the PC's. But need to do something for out laptops.

    As the laptops are going to be used outside of the company network the majority of the time I was thinking of leaving the updates to be downloaded from the net. And only set the remote admin settings, that way when they are in the office the can upload stat updates then.

    Is this the right way to go, or does anyone else have any better suggestions?

    Thanks in advance, AStaley.
     
  2. SmackyTheFrog

    SmackyTheFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    We put our RAS in the DMZ. Internal addresses can connect to it on the update and management ports, external addresses (laptops) can connect to it on the management port only. That way we can know about problem laptops before they are brought back on-site. Also, Eset has had a few occasions where they update servers get swamped and can't serve new definitions. In the event of this we open up the update port for external addresses and change their update profile to use our mirror. This is done mostly because our VPN client requires the definitions to be no more than 5 releases out of date and this keeps users from getting locked out from remote access.

    Obviously we use authentication on the update mirror and client reporting.
     
  3. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    Hello AStaley,

    When you have machines that go from your network to others, it is best to set up a dual update profile. This way they will try to update from your server first and if that fails, they will try to update from the internet. The Knowledgebase article below has information on how to set this up.

    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN761
     
  4. AStaley

    AStaley Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    Thank you for the replies. Is there any advantage to the dual update profile, or is it just that it saves on bandwidth?

    If it's just the saving on bandwidth then I would be inclined to just set the remote admin settings and leave the updates going through the internet.

    AStaley.
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I'd strongly recommend updating from a local mirror whenever possible. Especially at the event of a larger update the clients would be updated quicker instead of waiting several hours for the update.
     
  6. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    It does save on bandwidth to have the machines update locally whenever possible. You can have the clients update from the internet only, but we recommend updating locally whenever possible.
     
  7. rustyman

    rustyman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Posts:
    7
  8. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    What errors do you get if any?
    How are you testing it? (the scheduled task has to do the update, clicking on update will fail if the first server can't be reached)
    What version of the ERA Server are you using?
     
  9. rustyman

    rustyman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks for the reply Wayne.
    I did click on the Update button as nothing moved. Just pushed it to another PC as I write and it updates automatically fine.

    thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.