ERAS & Client Connection Issues...

Discussion in 'Other ESET Home Products' started by JReese, Jan 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JReese

JReese Registered Member

I'm not new to NOD32, but I am new to NOD32 in a business environment using ERAS & ERAC. I just purchased our package on the 27th and I am trying to get it set up and running on our small network of 4 clients and a server but I cannot get the clients to update definitions off of the server nor will they connect to the ERAS. So far my testing is on one Vista system and one XP system but both return the same message when trying to update: "Could not connect to server.". Also, see the attachment of the log.

Server is Windows Server 2008 Standard SP1 (32bit)
    Two clients are Windows Vista Business SP1 (32bit) laptops
    Two clients are Windows XP Professional SP3 (32bit) laptops

On the server side I have installed ERAS & ERAC (both version 3.0.39) and both seem to be working correctly. I set up the mirror on the server pretty much following the ESET Remote Administrator Installation Manual PDF and the server is updating okay and I confirmed this by physically checking the files in the mirror location. I also set up an XML configuration file for the clients using the "ESET Configuration Editor" making sure to set up both a LAN and INTERNET update profile and everything appears to be set up correctly after going back and checking and reapplying the configuration multiple times in the client using the Import/Export function.

I have had success with installing the Antivirus on the server and it updates & communicates with the server with no problems using the same XML configuration. Whether it is just because it is really communicating with itself or not I do not know. Both of the clients that fail to update can see the server fine by PING and over the network attaching to shares and same for the reverse of the server seeing the clients.