Enterprise Version

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Trooper, Apr 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Hi folks,

    I'm excited because we are getting Eset Enterprise version for our servers here at work. They are a mix of 2003 and 2008 R2 editions.

    We have two SQL servers. Can exclusions be setup for the SQL databases? I'm sure they can, just wanted to double check exactly how that can be achieved.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Thanks Cudni will have a look.

    You rock!
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2011
  4. tanstaafl

    tanstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Posts:
    207
    My advice - do NOT install v4.x on the servers, install the latest v 3.x...

    v4 is fine for workstations, but if you peruse these forums you will see all kinds of reports of problems with v4 HARD locking servers.

    You have been warned.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2011
  5. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    By all means try version 4, as V4 works fine on a lot of servers for a lot of people. I look after 7 Small Business Server machines (2003, 2003R2 and 200:cool: and on some, V4 is fine. But on others we had the problems eluded to by tanstaafl and we reverted to V3.

    So feel free to try, and there's every chance it'll work fine for you. But if it doesn't, fall back to V3 (if you can).



    Jim
     
  6. tanstaafl

    tanstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Posts:
    207
    I don't 'take chances' with my servers. Either something works reliably, or it doesn't. There is obviously something very wrong with v4 when it comes to servers. Some will 'work fine' for days or weeks, then get stopped cold... I don't play like that.

    I've been tempted to try VIPRE because of these problems, and am still considering it, as much as I have liked ESET (been using the ENterprise version on our 60+ computers for 6+ years now)...
     
  7. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    I agree, something is not right. However I can only base that statement on some of our servers, as the rest are all running perfectly. They are all SBS servers with pretty much identical configs amongst them.

    If it were me, I'd try V4 as it's so much better and easier to manage than V3. If it locks up the server you just reboot and install V4. YMMV.



    Jim
     
  8. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
  9. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Well we are getting licenses for our servers here for starters at my job. Will consider what you all are saying as we dive into this.

    dmaasland - Thanks for the links!!

    EDIT: How widespread is this issue on Windows Server 2008?
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2011
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.