enquiring about new av (i.e) indian av

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by kmr1685, Mar 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kmr1685

    kmr1685 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Posts:
    62
    hello everyone:D i like share something new (i.e.) born in india, living in india, but only few people known about it:ouch: . that is "indiaantivirus.com"

    this is not new av in indian market,but also not a rouge one. but anybody have any or some info about it. i wanted info about real user using it, and info about ram usage, detection rate and extras like bells and whistles.:argh:

    thats it, bye bye.
     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I know about Net Protector. Used to come free with some ISP packages a few years ago. It was no good back then. No idea how it is now.......
     
  3. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,030
    Location:
    United States
    I did some research, and you know what? :ninja: Its a rogue antivirus. :cautious: Here is three reasons why:

    1) Its a malicious domain, clicking "Free Useful Utilities" took me to -www.computerdelhi.com- which is also a malicious domain that distrubutes their rogue software. avast! Network Shield component blocked two malicious frames/images from this site (computerdelhi.com). -www.netprotector.co.in/- is another one of their domains. Webrep rates all three sites red and Trend Micro Site Safety Center also rated the domains as dangerous. All three sites even look malicious/fake (i.e flashing banners/icons). Also, when do feedback messages request for your phone number?

    2) Instructions to remove its predecessor, "Net Protector Antivirus 2010": http://www.2-spyware.com/remove-net-protector-antivirus-2010.html

    3) Smartscreen Filter (IE9) blocked the download and notified me that the installer was malicious when I tried downloading it.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 16, 2011
  4. Dark_Hanzo

    Dark_Hanzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    172
    Location:
    Canada
    Norton blocks any downloads from indiaantivirus.com. It says "Malicious Web Site Blocked".
     
  5. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
  6. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    ven now it is free with some ISP packages. This AV has a really ugly interface and poor detection. The free trial doesn't remove threats. Inspite of some problems I can ensure you that it is not a rogue but indeed there are much more better alternatives.
     
  7. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    786
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    its not rogue but it is not suitable to be installed ... why not go for better choices which are even free
     
  8. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    520
    A year ago I downloaded the installer, extracted its contents and scanned with Mcafee which removed some files as virus. Then I scanned the remaining files with Hitmanpro which showed more infections and uploaded many suspicious files for further analysis. Maybe its virus signatures are not password protected but I don't want to take chances.
     
  9. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    791
    Location:
    India
    i have never heard about this antivirus. Its better to use other free AV's like MSE/AVAST/AVIRA/Comodo...
     
  10. get_it

    get_it Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Posts:
    99
    Unique name eh
     
  11. kmr1685

    kmr1685 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Posts:
    62
    thanks for the replies peoples i am not using the av. i am currently using emsisoft av. my emsisoft did not allow me to visit or download any file from the address. all blocked immediately.

    ps: thanks once again for all your replies. :)
     
  12. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    one fails to understand the reason for this post?
     
  13. PunchsucKr

    PunchsucKr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Posts:
    124
    its a bogus av 99% probability. just use MSE.
    strange ie9's filter doesnt block the url or the download... maybe aftr completion it will block.
     
  14. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,030
    Location:
    United States
    Yeah, it scans the download after it is completed and then blocks it.
     
  15. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Why MSE? There are MANY other good AVs so why the "A versus B" plug for MSE? :thumbd:
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2011
  16. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    same thought here. MSE is not the best option there absolutely . Avira or others AVG AVAST or even PCTOOLS stiill better i think
     
  17. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    That isn't true if you're talking about the free version.
     
  18. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    According to MRG Flash tests, you could say the same about the paid version :p
     
  19. PunchsucKr

    PunchsucKr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Posts:
    124
    actually personally m just using mse as a secondary tool to remove any crap that does land on my system which is very rare...install and forget kind of guy so it fits me perfectly.
    forgot to add "or any other better alternatives" to my post.
     
  20. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    I find it odd that software needs a nationality. Same thing was done with the Epic browser.
     
  21. kareldjag

    kareldjag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Posts:
    622
    Location:
    PARIS AND ITS SUBURBS
  22. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,030
    Location:
    United States
    Isn't Kingsoft a Chinese-based company?
     
  23. kareldjag

    kareldjag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Posts:
    622
    Location:
    PARIS AND ITS SUBURBS
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.